RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: dbstanley on October 23, 2011, 08:04:33 AM

Title: Subsequent Spot
Post by: dbstanley on October 23, 2011, 08:04:33 AM
Team A downs a scrimmage kick at the 1 yard line.  However, the team A play that downs the ball is standing in the endzone.  1st and 10 at the 1 or 1st and 10 at the 20?

Similar scenario!  Team A's scrimmage kick bounces at the 1 and crosses the goal line in the air.  Team A player catches the ball before it hits in the endzone standing at the 1 yard line.  Touchback?  Down at the 1 yard line?
Title: Re: Subsequent Spot
Post by: TXMike on October 23, 2011, 08:18:38 AM
In the 1st case, the ball never broke the plane so it is placed at the 1

In the 2d, it did break the plane so it is a touchback
Title: Re: Subsequent Spot
Post by: mbyron on October 23, 2011, 09:23:19 AM
The position of the player relative to the goal line matters only for NFL rules. It's all about the ball in NCAA and NFHS.
Title: Re: Subsequent Spot
Post by: dbstanley on October 24, 2011, 08:08:03 PM
Rule 6; Article 9 "Touching Ground on or Behind Goal Line" 

The ball becomes dead and belongs to the team defending its goal line when a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone is subsequently untouched by Team B before touching the ground on or behind Team B's goal line.  Rule 8-4-2-b. 

If a Team B Player in the field of play possesses a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone but has not touched the ground has possessed a live ball and can advance it.