RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: familyman on October 27, 2011, 09:22:55 PM

Title: Safety or touchback?
Post by: familyman on October 27, 2011, 09:22:55 PM
Had this play where team quarterback A16 fumbles the ball on his own 8 yard line.  A's halfback tries to recover the ball forces the ball forward away from A's 8 yard line, where R trying to recover the rolling ball forces it into A's end zone where A recovers. We ruled a touchback, after getting together as a crew, because of R's force.  Was this the right call?   
Title: Re: Safety or touchback?
Post by: golfingref on October 27, 2011, 10:37:14 PM
From 2-13-1. After a fumble has been grounded, a new force (energy exerted by a player which provides movement of the ball) may result from a bat, illegal kick, or muff. Sounds like you and the crew got it right.
Title: Re: Safety or touchback?
Post by: hoochycoochy on October 27, 2011, 11:02:45 PM
Sounds like you got the call right but your usage of A and R is kinda mixed up.  A would be correct for this play but R designates the receiving team when there's a free or scrimmage kick play.  B would be the team who forced the ball into A's EZ. 
Title: Re: Safety or touchback?
Post by: TampaSteve on October 28, 2011, 07:23:06 AM
Yep. TB.