RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: GoodScout on November 04, 2011, 12:20:13 AM

Title: Punting on Third Down
Post by: GoodScout on November 04, 2011, 12:20:13 AM
This scenario was discussed at our association meeting tonight, and I left thinking I was 100% right and one of our R's was 100% wrong. But after going back over the book, I think my instincts led me down the wrong path. See what you think, and if you can cite the rule that I think covers it:

3rd and 15 at K's 12. K decides to punt on third down, but the kick is blocked behind the line by R77 and never crosses the LOS. Before anyone can gain possession it rolls out of bounds at K's 4. What do you have?
Title: Re: Punting on Third Down
Post by: Ump33 on November 04, 2011, 06:23:19 AM
This scenario was discussed at our association meeting tonight, and I left thinking I was 100% right and one of our R's was 100% wrong. But after going back over the book, I think my instincts led me down the wrong path. See what you think, and if you can cite the rule that I think covers it:

3rd and 15 at K's 12. K decides to punt on third down, but the kick is blocked behind the line by R77 and never crosses the LOS. Before anyone can gain possession it rolls out of bounds at K's 4. What do you have?

R's ball 1st & Goal at K's 4 yard line

5-1-3 … When a scrimmage down ends with the ball in the field of play or out of bounds between the goal lines, a new series is awarded to:
e. R, if K legally kicks during any scrimmage down and the ball is recovered by R, is in joint possession of opponents, goes out of bounds or becomes dead with no player in possession.
Title: Re: Punting on Third Down
Post by: GoodScout on November 04, 2011, 06:27:59 AM
Yep. I kept thinking that since the ball hadn't crossed the LOS, it would be 4th down and still K's ball, since if they had scooped it up inbounds and failed to make the line to gain they'd still get another down. But by going OOB, it becomes R's ball.
Title: Re: Punting on Third Down
Post by: Curious on November 04, 2011, 10:59:32 AM
But by going OOB, it becomes R's ball.

That's the key!  If they had recovered behind the LOS, but in bounds, they would get a 4th down.  CB: 6.2.3A(comment) and B
Title: Re: Punting on Third Down
Post by: mpmorris on November 21, 2011, 08:46:11 PM
Rule 6-2-7: "When any scrimmage kick is kicked out of bounds between the goal lines or becomes dead inbounds between the goal lines while no player is in possession, or inbounds anywhere while opponents are in joint possession, the ball is awarded to R. Following  an out-of-bounds kick, the ball is put in play at the inbounds spot unless R chooses a spot of first touching." It is not necessary to be in a scrimmage kick formation to execute a legal scrimmage kick (6-2-1)
Title: Re: Punting on Third Down
Post by: NoVaBJ on November 22, 2011, 09:04:21 AM
Wow, I would have completely kicked this one, giving 4th and 25 to K.  Thanks for posting this.