Recent Posts

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10
21
NCAA Discussion / Re: Friday Brain Teaser
« Last post by ilyazhito on Yesterday at 12:29:27 PM »
A 1/G from the 1/2 yard line, play clock at 40, game clock on the ready-for-play signal because of the 1st down inbounds.
22
National Federation Discussion / Re: Fair catch in kicking team's end zone
« Last post by bbeagle on Yesterday at 12:27:58 PM »
You should let him run with it, but that situation is going to be ripe for an IW

Exactly.

After the defense caught the ball in K's endzone (never had that happen before).... It took me about 1 1/2 seconds to process it and make SURE it wasn't K that caught it, because K could advance. After I realized it was R,  ^good
23
National Federation Discussion / Re: Another New Rule
« Last post by CalhounLJ on Yesterday at 11:57:47 AM »
2 similar situations.  1. QB is scrambling and takes off running. Receiver gets knocked down by a defender. Coach is screaming DPI. "Coach, we can't have PI when no pass was thrown." He didn't say anything else.

2. QB crosses LOS and gets nailed. Coach wants roughing. "Coach, can't have roughing the passer when no pass was thrown."
I heard this one time in response to that explanation- but it was a pass play! 34Zpost. We called it in the huddle!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
24
National Federation Discussion / Re: Fair catch in kicking team's end zone
« Last post by CalhounLJ on Yesterday at 11:54:21 AM »
You should let him run with it, but that situation is going to be ripe for an IW
No doubt


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
25
National Federation Discussion / Re: Fair catch in kicking team's end zone
« Last post by ncwingman on Yesterday at 11:06:57 AM »
You should let him run with it, but that situation is going to be ripe for an IW
26
National Federation Discussion / Re: Penalty Enforcement
« Last post by brettjr2005 on Yesterday at 10:48:22 AM »
Agree with jmckb99, it seems like logically the NZ would disappear once the ball goes beyond it.  Maybe everyone else already knew this and it's obvious, but it sounds like by the enforcement we're following in this example that A could run the ball 20 yards downfield, fumble or pass backwards, and as long as possession never changed, a player could still throw a pass or kick behind the NZ...even though A already took the ball 20 yards beyond the NZ previously?  That just doesn't seem right but as with the example in this post I can't find anything in the rule book against it. 
27
National Federation Discussion / Re: Another New Rule
« Last post by SCHSref on Yesterday at 10:35:47 AM »
I had a related one this past week (also from a fan). Kicker muffs the snap, picks it up deep in his own end zone, runs around a bit... and then manages to get a kick off, whereupon he is tackled pretty hard. Easiest RTK call in history.

From a fan in the stands -- "That's not roughing! The ball hit the ground!"

2 similar situations.  1. QB is scrambling and takes off running. Receiver gets knocked down by a defender. Coach is screaming DPI. "Coach, we can't have PI when no pass was thrown." He didn't say anything else.

2. QB crosses LOS and gets nailed. Coach wants roughing. "Coach, can't have roughing the passer when no pass was thrown."
28
National Federation Discussion / Re: Game start
« Last post by AlUpstateNY on Yesterday at 10:11:11 AM »
  If they are both happy with the original choices I would allow that too.  If however both coaches do not agree to those terms then I would do a new toss.

Once again, "Common sense" and NFHS 1-1-6:( "The REFEREE has authority to rule promptly, and in the spirit of good sportsmanship, on any situation not specifically state in the rules.  The REFEREE'S decisions are FINAL in all matters pertaining to the game.") provides appropriate guidance.

Your suggestion makes "common sense", and is a simple and direct solution to either option.  All that's needed, to avoid "beating this horse to death"
29
NCAA Discussion / Re: Friday Brain Teaser No. 2
« Last post by ElvisLives on Yesterday at 10:10:24 AM »
1st and goal from the B-18. PC 25, GC on RFP.

The basic spot for the UNS is the end of the run, which is the spot of the fumble in this case, the B-1. Since the foul occurred behind the basic spot by the team in possession, it is enforced from the spot of the foul, the B-3. Because Team A fumbled on 4th down before a change of team possession, the ball is dead when A40 recovers it. Because the ball is beyond the spot of the fumble and is not a touchdown, so the game clock is on the RFP rather than the snap. If this same play had happened on any down other than 4th, the GC would be on the snap because the result of the play would be a TD. Regardless of what down it is, the play clock is at 25 because if the penalty administration.

Exactly.

Now, let's change it a bit.  Similar play, but without the foul.

4/5, B-45, 6:00 (3), running.  Team A will apparently punt.  A19 catches the direct snap, but instead of kicking, throws a legal forward pass to A80.  A80 is able to break away and is clear of all B players by at least 10 yards as he approaches B's goal line.  As his lead leg is crossing the goal line, A80 "hot dogs" (legal, but stupid) and drops the ball - he thinks after he scored, but, in fact, he loses control and possession of the ball at the B-1/2.  The ball falls to the ground at the B-1/2, then bounces into the end zone, where teammate A40 falls on the ball.  (Note: The S is in great position at the goal line extended, correctly drops a spot marker (bean bag) at the B-1, processes the play, and signals time out momentarily after A40 recovers the ball.)

Ruling (including play clock and game clock status):





30
National Federation Discussion / Re: Fair catch in kicking team's end zone
« Last post by CalhounLJ on Yesterday at 10:01:01 AM »
In this case I say yes. If K catches the ball we let him run with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10