Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10
1
NCAA Discussion / Re: Always something new...
« Last post by Etref on Yesterday at 06:57:32 PM »
What sometimes works is
"One of those looks" :!#
2
NCAA Discussion / Re: Always something new...
« Last post by Rulesman on Yesterday at 06:35:29 PM »
“The Referee has the power to rule on anything not specifically covered by the rules.” That  said, DOG and UNR come to mind as possibilities. Or you can simply ignore it and play on.
3
NCAA Discussion / Always something new...
« Last post by ElvisLives on Yesterday at 05:10:21 PM »
Here's one that more-or-less resolved itself, but could have been a real problem in other circumstances.

Cool, but completely dry evening.  If fact, cool enough that the players didn't sweat a lot.  2/5, B-30, 5:00 (2), both clocks running.  A=7, B=28.  The succeeding spot is on the hash mark nearest Team A's sideline.  Team A is at the line, preparing to snap.  Suddenly, seemingly from out of nowhere, a football (not the game ball) comes flying out from Team A's sideline, initially in flight low to the ground, then landing at about the bottom of the numbers and bounding toward the hash mark.  What the HECK?

Is it a ball that got away from some players warming up?
Was a ball boy fartin' around and lost control of a ball?
By the nature of how the ball came flying out and bounding with force, those seemed unlikely.

So what else was possible?  Did someone throw a ball out there to stop the snap count?  Why?  It was their own team.  What else could it have been?

About this time, the crew hears a comment - from somewhere unidentifiable - about needing to change the ball, because it is wet.

The clock gets stopped.  The R checks with the U regarding the fitness of the ball that is in the game.  Nothing wrong with it in any way.  It was one of the balls checked and marked by the R, and it was dry, and completely fit for play.  The R then turns toward the A sideline,  to attempt to ascertain from where, and how, the extra ball got onto the field.  At that point Team A requested a time-out.  The request was granted, which, effectively resolved the situation.  After all, the only team potentially harmed by this interruption of the snap count was Team A.
Near the conclusion of the T/O, the Team A HC calls the R over and, somewhat apologetically, explains that he doesn't know what that was all about.  (Apparently, one of his assistants had thrown the ball out there, wanting to have it put into play in lieu of the ball that was in the game, under some mistaken belief there was something wrong with the ball in the game (wet?).)  After using some unflattering descriptions of his assistants, and acknowledging that such stupidity cost them a timeout, he said, "Sorry," and went back to his sideline.

The disparity on the score of the game grew larger, but there was no further incidents of any kind, and full cooperation from that sideline (actually, both sidelines) the remainder of the game.

But, I wonder what might have happened, had it been a close game at that point, and Team A didn't pre-emptively request a T/O.  The crew would have little choice but to impose some type of penalty.  Bur what penalty?  Delay of game?  Maybe, but that really doesn't fit anything described in Rule 3.  More likely, they would have had to impose a penalty for UNS, under 9-2-3-c.

The crew was glad it didn't come to that.

Interesting.

Robert

 
4
NCAA Discussion / Re: Motion question
« Last post by Kalle on November 16, 2017, 03:30:45 PM »
If we have a wide receiver on the end of the line out near the sideline and he starts to re-position himself as a tight end directly next to the tackle but the ball is snapped before he comes to a stop in his new position, he is clearly still moving in toward his new position next to the tackle, what are we calling?

IM. It is not simulating the start of the play nor is he a restricted lineman, and the movement is not quick or jerky. None of the provisions of rule 7-1-2-b apply. As he is not a back and he is in motion, he does break rule 7-1-4-b-1.
5
NCAA Discussion / Re: Jerseys tucked in
« Last post by ljudge on November 16, 2017, 12:06:31 PM »
If any of you have worked a certain D-II school on the eastern seaboard this should sound familiar.  "Are we going to enforce all the rules today?"  lol. 
6
NCAA Discussion / Re: Jerseys tucked in
« Last post by #92 on November 16, 2017, 11:54:38 AM »
I'm likely not going to grab the wrong end of either of those sticks....no huddle offenses with subs coming in from my sideline and trying to get a count and ID keys before the play--especially when the previous play ended in my sidezone--no not going there.
I genuinely don't understand what you mean.
7
NCAA Discussion / Re: Jerseys tucked in
« Last post by #92 on November 16, 2017, 11:54:06 AM »
If I had to guess how my supervisor feels about most things, I'd say I have two choices. 1) Follow RR's directive and correct all all the untucked jerseys, or 2) Have a job next season. I'll keep my job and get the big ones. I'll cover pads, I'll make sure the jersey is pulled down far enough that we can read the numbers, but I don't care one bit if it's tucked in or not.
Forget the jerseys then. I was more focusing on the mechanics than RR's point. So let's say it's a player with his mouthpiece still dangling on his facemask.
8
NCAA Discussion / Re: Jerseys tucked in
« Last post by Legacy Zebra on November 16, 2017, 11:51:59 AM »
If I had to guess how my supervisor feels about most things, I'd say I have two choices. 1) Follow RR's directive and correct all all the untucked jerseys, or 2) Have a job next season. I'll keep my job and get the big ones. I'll cover pads, I'll make sure the jersey is pulled down far enough that we can read the numbers, but I don't care one bit if it's tucked in or not.
9
NCAA Discussion / Re: Jerseys tucked in
« Last post by SJ3205 on November 16, 2017, 11:27:17 AM »
I'm likely not going to grab the wrong end of either of those sticks....no huddle offenses with subs coming in from my sideline and trying to get a count and ID keys before the play--especially when the previous play ended in my sidezone--no not going there.
10
Texas Topics / Re: UIL Playoff Brackets
« Last post by dcref on November 16, 2017, 10:39:13 AM »
Seymour / Collinsville   Abilene
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10