Author Topic: New Penalty for Receiver Running OOB and then Catching a Pass  (Read 559 times)

Offline animalspooker

  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-6
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
New Penalty for Receiver Running OOB and then Catching a Pass
« on: August 02, 2017, 02:32:47 PM »
Situation:  A1 (receiver) upon the snap, runs out of bounds on his own, then returns in bounds and makes a catch on a legal forward pass.

Was told they have changed the penalty for this from OPI to Illegal Participation.  Will this change the enforcement, and if not, then why change it except to use a different penalty signal?

Offline FLAHL

  • *
  • Posts: 645
  • FAN REACTION: +41/-7
Re: New Penalty for Receiver Running OOB and then Catching a Pass
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2017, 03:01:22 PM »
Situation:  A1 (receiver) upon the snap, runs out of bounds on his own, then returns in bounds and makes a catch on a legal forward pass.

Was told they have changed the penalty for this from OPI to Illegal Participation.  Will this change the enforcement, and if not, then why change it except to use a different penalty signal?

This has been Illegal Participation for years.  15 yard penalty.  Signal 28.

“SECTION 6 ILLEGAL PARTICIPATION

ART. 1 . . . Prior to a change of possession, or when there is no change of ­possession, no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return to the field during the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent. If a player is blocked out of bounds by an opponent and returns to the field during the down, he shall return at the first opportunity.”
"Never argue with stupid people.  They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience." - Mark Twain

Offline AlUpstateNY

  • *
  • Posts: 3217
  • FAN REACTION: +249/-463
Re: New Penalty for Receiver Running OOB and then Catching a Pass
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2017, 10:10:21 PM »
Situation:  A1 (receiver) upon the snap, runs out of bounds on his own, then returns in bounds and makes a catch on a legal forward pass.

Was told they have changed the penalty for this from OPI to Illegal Participation.  Will this change the enforcement, and if not, then why change it except to use a different penalty signal?

Perhaps your "source" was referring to the this year's revision of 2-16-2h, which changed certain Illegal Participation fouls by R, during a kick, to PSK enforcement.

Offline The Roamin' Umpire

  • *
  • Posts: 347
  • FAN REACTION: +30/-16
Re: New Penalty for Receiver Running OOB and then Catching a Pass
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2017, 06:02:44 AM »
Situation:  A1 (receiver) upon the snap, runs out of bounds on his own, then returns in bounds and makes a catch on a legal forward pass.

Was told they have changed the penalty for this from OPI to Illegal Participation.  Will this change the enforcement, and if not, then why change it except to use a different penalty signal?

This has never been OPI. Up until several years ago, a catch by an ineligible receiver was OPI, but that is no longer the case. Even if it were, it wouldn't apply here because of 7-5-6d: "A player who is eligible at the start of the down remains eligible throughout the down."

This is IP all century long.