Author Topic: 3-4-7 and an IW  (Read 611 times)

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
3-4-7 and an IW
« on: August 05, 2017, 03:59:17 AM »
Had an interesting test question on our state exam last week. It goes something like this. A's ball first and goal at B's 2 with less than two minutes left in the half. During a run up the middle for no gain B twists A's face mask(live ball foul). A takes the penalty making it first and goal now from the 1. There is still plenty of time on the clock and not wanting to score too early A decides not to have the clock start on the snap (3-4-7).  On the next play A's quarterback scrambles for a while before tossing a pass into the end zone. B tips the pass high into the air and then the BJ blows an IW. A would like to replay the down and is given the opportunity to have the clock start on the snap. We say yes here in SC. This was a tough question considering the timing rules for an IW. Chew on this one for a while and have a great year!

Offline Badger1

  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2017, 06:31:31 AM »
In accordance with Rule 3-4-2(c) the clock shall start on the ready for play to replay this down.  If the offense didn't get the play off because time now runs out, you would extend the down in accordance with Rule 3-3-3(c).

Online VA Official

  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 07:29:25 AM »
In accordance with Rule 3-4-2(c) the clock shall start on the ready for play to replay this down.  If the offense didn't get the play off because time now runs out, you would extend the down in accordance with Rule 3-3-3(c).

If time expires during the down in which there's an IW, you extend the period. If time expires after the down ends and they don't get the next play off in time, you do not extend the period.

Offline js in sc

  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2017, 12:37:11 PM »
The question seems to be does A reserve the right to start the clock on the snap for replay of a down following a down where there was a foul against them.  Would this be similar to replaying a down following a fair catch, where A can change from a snap to a free kick?  This is not specified in rule 3-4-7.

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2017, 02:15:43 PM »
Yes js does he reserve that right? And if you're from SC you had this on last Saturdays test. I believe we here in SC will give A the option.

Offline zhntr

  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2017, 10:50:06 AM »
4th and 10 from the K10. K1ís kick is high and short, and a strong wind blows it back
behind the NZ where K1 catches it at the K5. When K1 catches it, the official blows his
whistle. When the whistle blew, there is 0:03 left in a tied game.

Can we apply 3-4-7 here? Who's the "offended team"? Could be K since they can advance a SK caught behind the NZ. Could be R since they could have tackled K at the K5.

Is the administration of an IW a "penalty"?

3-4 ART. 7 . . . When a penalty is accepted with less than two minutes remaining in either half, the offended team will have the option to start the game clock on the snap.

« Last Edit: August 09, 2017, 10:53:42 AM by zhntr »

Online VA Official

  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2017, 10:58:15 AM »
4th and 10 from the K10. K1ís kick is high and short, and a strong wind blows it back
behind the NZ where K1 catches it at the K5. When K1 catches it, the official blows his
whistle. When the whistle blew, there is 0:03 left in a tied game.

Can we apply 3-4-7 here? Who's the "offended team"? Could be K since they can advance a SK caught behind the NZ. Could be R since they could have tackled K at the K5.

Is the administration of an IW a "penalty"?

3-4 ART. 7 . . . When a penalty is accepted with less than two minutes remaining in either half, the offended team will have the option to start the game clock on the snap.

A penalty by definition is a result of a foul, and an IW is not a foul. The clock after an IW is covered under 3-4-2c, so the clock starts on the RFP.

Offline Stinterp

  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2017, 02:14:43 PM »
Agree with VA -  RFP.

Offline SCline

  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2017, 08:22:49 AM »
Agreed that 3-4-2c should apply. Any rule where a team retains a decision during replay of a down (location of ball for a try, free kick or snap after a fair catch) is explicitly defined in the rule book.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 08:25:58 AM by SCline »

Offline KWH

  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • FAN REACTION: +49/-34
Re: 3-4-7 and an IW
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2017, 03:25:39 PM »
Yes js does he reserve that right? And if you're from SC you had this on last Saturdays test. I believe we here in SC will give A the option.

I have one question for my South Carolina colleagues;
Is this an interpretation from Bruce Hulion? 
Or somebody else?
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 09:31:11 AM by KWH »