Author Topic: 2017 NFHS Reddings Study Guide Example 11-38 (pg 166)  (Read 399 times)

Offline zhntr

  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
2017 NFHS Reddings Study Guide Example 11-38 (pg 166)
« on: August 09, 2017, 10:31:06 AM »
Fourth and two at the A-35. A11 takes the snap and fumbles the ball at the A-38 with the ball going out of bounds on the (a) A40. Immediately after the ball goes out of bounds, Team A commits a personal foul. RULING: In (a), it is Team A's ball, first and 10 at the A-25. The clock starts on the ready-for-play signal.

Why do they have the clock start on the ready?

3-4 ART. 3 . . . The clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the clock was stopped because:
a. The ball goes out of bounds.


Offline zoom

  • *
  • Posts: 172
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-3
2017 NFHS Reddings Study Guide Example 11-38 (pg 166)
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2017, 02:53:04 PM »
This would start on the ready in NCAA as it is a forward fumble out of bounds, and the ball would come back to the A38 and the penalty would be enforced from there.  The ruling is wrong for either code.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk


Offline edtude

  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-0
  • Just a target for Running Backs and Tight Ends....
Re: 2017 NFHS Reddings Study Guide Example 11-38 (pg 166)
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2017, 08:13:55 AM »
Fourth and two at the A-35. A11 takes the snap and fumbles the ball at the A-38 with the ball going out of bounds on the (a) A40. Immediately after the ball goes out of bounds, Team A commits a personal foul. RULING: In (a), it is Team A's ball, first and 10 at the A-25. The clock starts on the ready-for-play signal.

Why do they have the clock start on the ready?

3-4 ART. 3 . . . The clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the clock was stopped because:
a. The ball goes out of bounds.

I agree with you, in NFHS rules I see no reason for the clock to start on the RFP. The ball went out of bounds at the 40, line to gain was met first down. Before the chains were set we have a dead ball personal foul back them up 15 yards set the chains clock starts on the snap. At least that is how I would run it.