Author Topic: Kick Catch Interference  (Read 267 times)

Offline FLAHL

  • *
  • Posts: 645
  • FAN REACTION: +41/-7
Kick Catch Interference
« on: August 19, 2017, 10:09:51 AM »
On a free kick, K1 kicks the ball high and short (not a pop up kick) to R's 40 yard line. R30 signals for a fair catch at the R40.  K5, at the R 42,  blocks R50 into R30 causing R30 to muff the kick. Is this KCI?  Is it an illegal block by K? 

Thanks.
"Never argue with stupid people.  They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience." - Mark Twain

Offline AlUpstateNY

  • *
  • Posts: 3217
  • FAN REACTION: +249/-463
Re: Kick Catch Interference
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2017, 10:27:15 AM »
Several rules come into play; NFHS 6-5-6-b, and 9-8-a.  Which violation best suits the specific play being observed may be determined by the judgment of the covering official, or the selection of options presented to the offended team.

Offline The Roamin' Umpire

  • *
  • Posts: 347
  • FAN REACTION: +30/-16
Re: Kick Catch Interference
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2017, 07:09:18 AM »
Perhaps even more important is 6-5-6a: "While any free kick is in flight in or beyond the neutral zone to the receiver's goal line ... K shall not (a) Touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R, or to ward off a blocker."

Because the kick has not been grounded, if K5 is initiating the contact here, you have KCI.