Author Topic: Clock Stoppage on Penalty  (Read 819 times)

Offline J12

  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-4
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Clock Stoppage on Penalty
« on: November 02, 2014, 03:35:28 PM »
        Saw this in a game Friday Night.

         A is winning 14-7 with about a minute to play and is trying to run out the clock. B is out of time-outs.

         A on 3 & 10 is stopped on a running play inbounds for no gain. A is flagged for dead ball unsportsmanlike conduct (for taunting). Clock is stopped for penalty enforcement and it's now 4th and 25.

         Question: Should clock run on the Ready for Play or on the Snap? Referee ran the clock on the snap.

Offline prab

  • *
  • Posts: 594
  • FAN REACTION: +33/-44
  • Wherever you go, there you are!
Re: Clock Stoppage on Penalty
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2014, 05:24:53 PM »
This is a judgment call.  Referee has to decide whether A was attempting to consume time as per 3-4-3h.  If so, and it appears from the OP that he did, he can start the clock on the snap as per 3-4-6.