Author Topic: 2015 Casebook Question  (Read 958 times)

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
2015 Casebook Question
« on: April 01, 2016, 08:26:38 AM »
9.7.2 SIT B: Would not R have the options to snap or free kick from the R25 ? As always thanks for all the help.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1233
  • FAN REACTION: +63/-22
Re: 2015 Casebook Question
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2016, 09:55:41 AM »
Yes.  I think they omitted that option.

Offline KWH

  • *
  • Posts: 322
  • FAN REACTION: +74/-39
Re: 2015 Casebook Question
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2016, 09:59:47 AM »
Yes.
In (a),if R chooses to take an awarded fair catch, the ball would be placed on the R25 yard line.
The 25 yard line is the spot of Kick catching interference (the R 10) plus 15 yards.
Note that R can now put the ball in play via a snap or a free kick

Good catch sczeebra, The Case Book has not caught up with the Rules Book as is often the case with any Rule change
I will forward this on to the  Editorial Committee and we shall see if this can still be corrected in time for the 2016 Case Book
Again, good catch sczeebra!

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2574
  • FAN REACTION: +317/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 2015 Casebook Question
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 07:14:24 AM »
Good response, KWH, to the good catch by sczeebra. Good decision by KWH in relaying the fau pas to the elite Executive Committee for future correction. Free kicking from B's 25 would be for an 85 yard field goal.
A catergory 2 hurricane's head wind may also be needed for such an event.