Author Topic: 2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question  (Read 844 times)

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question
« on: July 03, 2017, 08:29:14 PM »
       3.4.2. SITUATION D: There are 55 seconds to go in the game when K11 punts the ball from a fourth and 10 situation. R1 catches the kick and returns 10 yards. During the down, but prior to the catch, K3 holds R2. R accepts the penalty. RULING: After enforcement, the clock starts on the ready-for-play signal unless the offended team chooses to start the clock on the snap inside the last two minutes of either half. (3-4-2b(3) Without the information as to how the ball became dead, how can we assume the clock starts on the ready. Thank you Ladies and Gents.

Online GA Umpire

  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-0
Re: 2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2017, 11:56:08 PM »
       3.4.2. SITUATION D: There are 55 seconds to go in the game when K11 punts the ball from a fourth and 10 situation. R1 catches the kick and returns 10 yards. During the down, but prior to the catch, K3 holds R2. R accepts the penalty. RULING: After enforcement, the clock starts on the ready-for-play signal unless the offended team chooses to start the clock on the snap inside the last two minutes of either half. (3-4-2b(3) Without the information as to how the ball became dead, how can we assume the clock starts on the ready. Thank you Ladies and Gents.

I agree.   3-4-2b3

Edited because I got my "K"s and "R"s mixed up (again)
« Last Edit: July 04, 2017, 12:01:50 AM by GA Umpire »

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: 2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2017, 10:58:09 AM »
New case play. They just forgot to add how the play ended.

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1205
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-42
Re: 2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2017, 01:05:35 PM »
"Ump" is right; the play ended after R is tackled - clock stops...but just to clarify further: now we deal with the penalty which is accepted; therefore there is no new series (following a legal kick) after the enforcement; so the clock would normally start on the RFP for a replay of the down (except, now, the new rule gives the offended team the choice of when to start the clock)

Offline KWH

  • *
  • Posts: 285
  • FAN REACTION: +57/-37
Re: 2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2017, 02:16:25 PM »

When reading the NFHS Case Book, it is safe to assume 3-4-2b(3) is applicable unless otherwise noted.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2469
  • FAN REACTION: +294/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2017, 08:30:06 AM »
When reading the NFHS Case Book, it is safe to assume 3-4-2b(3) is applicable unless otherwise noted.
IMHO, the case was written to illustrate the application of 3-2-2b(3) and where it doesn't mention the play ending OOB, it is safe to assume it didn't.

Sometimes KWH and I agree :).

Offline VA Official

  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 151
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-5
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 2017 NFHS Casebook Play Question
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2017, 11:35:28 AM »
"Ump" is right; the play ended after R is tackled - clock stops...but just to clarify further: now we deal with the penalty which is accepted; therefore there is no new series (following a legal kick) after the enforcement; so the clock would normally start on the RFP for a replay of the down (except, now, the new rule gives the offended team the choice of when to start the clock)

The clock would normally start on the RFP if R was tackled inbounds. If R was tackled OOB, we would start on the snap (3-4-3a). Also would start on the snap for a touchback, kick OOB, a fair catch, or anything else covered under 3-4-3.