Author Topic: Ineligible Downfield  (Read 392 times)

Offline MBK

  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Ineligible Downfield
« on: August 01, 2017, 06:36:03 PM »
During a recent rules training session,  we discussed this situation: On a play where a forward pass crosses the neutral zone, A67 is guilty of being an ineligible receiver downfield if he runs two yards beyond the LOS and does not block anyone.

We all agreed 7-5.12 applied and there's no foul but weren't sure of the significance of the third sentence.

1) Ineligible A players may not advance beyond the expanded neutral zone on a legal forward pass play before a legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone is in flight.

2) If B touches the pass in or behind the neutral zone, this restriction is terminated.

3) An ineligible is not illegally downfield if, at the snap, he immediately contacts a B lineman and the contact does not continue beyond the expanded neutral zone.

Does it mean an ineligible can be beyond the expanded neutral zone before the pass crosses the neutral zone as long as he immediately contacted a B lineman at the snap?

Offline js in sc

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Ineligible Downfield
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2017, 09:42:24 PM »
In the purest interpretation of the rule, the contact should not continue beyond the ENZ.  If he is continuing contact beyond that point, then he is downfield illegally.  However, in a game situation, I might give him a yard or so if he is still in contact, but not a block like in the movie "The Blind Side".

Offline Jackhammer

  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • FAN REACTION: +13/-5
Re: Ineligible Downfield
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2017, 10:31:35 PM »
No he can't be beyond the ENZ regardless of contact. 

The third sentence is simply further clarification of the first sentence.  Don't use is to try and complicate this further.  The line gets the ENZ on a forward pass play.  If they're beyond it's ineligible downfield.

In the case of contact beyond that point you also have the possibility of OPI
"The only whistle that kills a play is an inadvertent one"

"The only thing black and white in officiating is the uniform"

Offline edtude

  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-0
  • Just a target for Running Backs and Tight Ends....
Re: Ineligible Downfield
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2017, 07:45:16 AM »
Quote
he immediately contacts a B lineman and the contact does not continue beyond the expanded neutral zone.

It clearly states the contact can not continue beyond the expanded neutral zone so if he is engaged in a block beyond the expanded neutral zone he is ineligibly downfield.  ^flag and report to the white hat.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1161
  • FAN REACTION: +52/-21
Re: Ineligible Downfield
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2017, 08:34:15 AM »
This is a good one for the editorial committee to clarify next year.

Offline refjeff

  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-10
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Ineligible Downfield
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2017, 10:38:57 AM »
7.5.12  If the forward pass does not cross the neutral zone i.e., a screen pass, the offensive linemen can be past the expanded neutral zone before the pass is thrown.

If the forward pass does cross the neutral zone the offensive linemen can go downfield when the pass "is in flight" i.e., as soon as the QB releases the ball.  They don't have to wait for the ball to cross the neutral zone.