Author Topic: What's the right call?  (Read 3128 times)

Offline VA Official

  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-5
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: What's the right call?
« Reply #25 on: October 04, 2017, 06:47:03 PM »
Agreed it's not a foul until the snap since the "snapper" can square up before he actually snaps the ball, but since he doesn't in this play the foul is both encroachment (he's illegally in the NZ) and/or illegal snap (he by definition is not the snapper per rule 2) and those are both by rule DB violations that immediately kill the play.

I agree. I can’t let a player, who by definition is not a snapper, touch the ball and be in the NZ and not call a DB foul of some sort (either encroachment or illegal snap). 7-1-5: “No player, other than the snapper, shall encroach on the neutral zone after the ball is marked ready for play by touching the ball...”

7-1-5 is too clear to not follow here.

Offline NorCalMike

  • *
  • Posts: 735
  • FAN REACTION: +22/-8
Re: What's the right call?
« Reply #26 on: October 06, 2017, 02:22:08 AM »
... wait, does that mean you've actually seen this?!
For some reason teams in my parts thing the whole swinging gate thing is a great idea. I have seen this a couple times over the last 5 years and flag the play when the ball is snap. Live ball illegal formation. As Ralph said it is way easier to explain to a coach.

Offline CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • FAN REACTION: +11/-18
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
What's the right call?
« Reply #27 on: October 06, 2017, 07:14:11 AM »
Plus it’s the right call.  😎


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk