Author Topic: Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play  (Read 1332 times)

Offline Patrick E.

  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-3
Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play
« on: November 26, 2017, 02:29:55 PM »
FG blocked as time expires -
 
https://twitter.com/VarsityAces/status/931706211568902144
 
http://www.northjersey.com/story/sports/high-school/football/2017/11/17/must-see-hasbrouck-heights-new-milford-game-ends-confusing-blocked-kick/876868001/

It appears R commits Illegal Participation before securing possession of the ball. K should have been given an untimed down.


Offline KWH

  • *
  • Posts: 344
  • FAN REACTION: +82/-39
Re: Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2017, 03:10:40 PM »
IP on R, followed by an IW on L.

Reference Rules 3-3-3a and 3-3-3c  but then apply Rule 4-2-3d.

Replay the down after a 15 yard IP penalty is enforced against R.

Unfortunately, it appears they ended the game because "they blew the whistle!" 
That conclusion would be incorrect based on Rule 3-3-3c...a period shall be extended by an untimed down if there was an inadvertent whistle. 
« Last Edit: November 26, 2017, 03:12:41 PM by KWH »

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2699
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2017, 12:22:00 PM »
"They blew the whistle" is fine, "while the play was still going" IS NOT = Inadvertent Whistle = untimed down if clock had expired before the tweet...

Then the  z^ z^ z^ z^ z^ (5 man crew) would have to short out the mundane stuff, such as :

 (1) Was K also guilty of IP  ??? , If so did it occur before/ after R gained control  ??? ??? ??? .

 (2) If only R was guilty if IP, did it occur before /after R gained possession  ??? ???

 (3) Did all 5 whistles sound concurrently  :o ? Where was the loose ball/player with ball when the first tweet was sounded  ?

 tR:oLl :puke: :puke: :puke: tR:oLl







 (4) Can the  z^ handle this as with Cal scoring on the Sanford band ^good

 (5) Will the  z^ z^ z^ z^ z^ need a SWAT helicopter to rescue them at midfield  :-X ?

...You make the call  yEs: ^talk ^talk

        :sTiR: 
« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 12:27:46 PM by Ralph Damren »

Offline AlUpstateNY

  • *
  • Posts: 3438
  • FAN REACTION: +261/-501
Re: Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2017, 03:21:28 PM »
Sometimes the best you can do is simply clean all the..."stuff", off the fan, before you put it away.

Offline NCVAReferee

  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-1
Re: Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2017, 02:02:06 PM »
Are you saying R bench came on the field and participated?  Why wouldn't this be an unsportsmanlike conduct foul by non players?  Also, if the football went forward when white tossed it high we'll need a flag on that.

My rule would be to give green ball for one untimed down due to IW and enforce the unsportsmanlike conduct foul on white bench at the succeeding spot.

Offline NCVAReferee

  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-1
Re: Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2017, 03:04:17 PM »
I wasn't explaining fully.  If R came on the field and merely celebrated its hard to say they participated.  If they didn't participate then we have unsportsmanlike conduct.  If R threw the ball forward and it wasn't caught by Green (it's hard to tell from the video if ball hit the ground or was caught in the air) - ie it hit the ground first - the. It's an incomplete illegal forward pass and game is over because unsportsmanlike conduct foul is succeeding spot.  If it was either forward and caught by Green or backward and picked up by Green and then The referees blew an IW then Green has choice to take ball at dead ball spot for one untimed down - plus unsportsmanlike conduct penalty.

If R bench did participate then Green gets an untimed down only if it happened before r recovered blocked kick.  If happened while ball loose then it is a previous spot foul.  In this case IW is irrelevant.

Offline Eastshire

  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • FAN REACTION: +6/-2
Re: Crazy Scrimmage Kick Play
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2017, 06:56:00 AM »
I wasn't explaining fully.  If R came on the field and merely celebrated its hard to say they participated.  If they didn't participate then we have unsportsmanlike conduct.  If R threw the ball forward and it wasn't caught by Green (it's hard to tell from the video if ball hit the ground or was caught in the air) - ie it hit the ground first - the. It's an incomplete illegal forward pass and game is over because unsportsmanlike conduct foul is succeeding spot.  If it was either forward and caught by Green or backward and picked up by Green and then The referees blew an IW then Green has choice to take ball at dead ball spot for one untimed down - plus unsportsmanlike conduct penalty.

If R bench did participate then Green gets an untimed down only if it happened before r recovered blocked kick.  If happened while ball loose then it is a previous spot foul.  In this case IW is irrelevant.

FWIW, I think it's pretty clear that R recovers the blocked kick and throws it backwards to where K recovers the lateral on the fly. The first whistle I hear is sounded when K recovers the lateral, which is quickly followed by echoing whistles. At any rate the ball clearly leaves view at the top of the screen and K catches a ball that comes back down from the top of the screen a good ways behind the spot it was thrown.