Author Topic: Question about Free Kick foul  (Read 425 times)

Offline SCHSref

  • *
  • Posts: 259
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-9
  • In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king
Question about Free Kick foul
« on: May 11, 2018, 01:45:03 PM »
What foul that is simultaneous with the kick, committed by either team, would cause you NOT to kill the play, other than illegal sub/participation?
If you didn't see it, you can't call it

Offline prab

  • *
  • Posts: 548
  • FAN REACTION: +33/-40
  • Wherever you go, there you are!
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2018, 02:50:47 PM »
How about USC?


Offline SCHSref

  • *
  • Posts: 259
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-9
  • In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2018, 03:30:04 PM »
How about USC?

That isn't simultaneous with the kick
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 06:37:19 PM by SCHSref »
If you didn't see it, you can't call it

Offline js in sc

  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2018, 06:15:58 PM »
I would kill it for a pop-up kick.

Offline SCHSref

  • *
  • Posts: 259
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-9
  • In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2018, 06:37:35 PM »
I would kill it for a pop-up kick.

Thanks
If you didn't see it, you can't call it

Offline prab

  • *
  • Posts: 548
  • FAN REACTION: +33/-40
  • Wherever you go, there you are!
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2018, 09:28:52 PM »
That isn't simultaneous with the kick

I believe that it could be USC.  Rare and/or unlikely, but it could happen.  If so, penalty enforced from succeeding spot.

I also believe that 9.9 (failure to wear required equipment during a down) and 9.10.4 (illegal kicking tee) would qualify.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2018, 11:48:50 AM by prab »

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2561
  • FAN REACTION: +315/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2018, 09:57:59 AM »
I believe that it could be USC.  Rare and/or unlikely, but it could happen.  If so, penalty enforced from succeeding spot.

I also believe that 9.9 (failure to wear required equipment during a down) and 9.10.4 (illegal kicking tee) would qualify.

9.9 applies to action that occurred during the down = Bubba (K1) spits out his mouthpiece as he waddles downfield = 5 yards @ succeeding spot.

Case 9.10.4 discusses the use of illegal tee being noticed by ^flag during the kick. Prab is correct, this foul would be treated as a live ball foul. As preventive officiating, if we saw an illegal tee coming in, best to send 'er back out for a good one. Examples of illegal tees :

(1) clam shell glued to a heap of cow dung;

(2) a bottle opener attached to brick with duck tape....

There may be others....

 tR:oLl :puke: :puke: :puke: tR:oLl

Offline KWH

  • *
  • Posts: 314
  • FAN REACTION: +72/-39
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2018, 03:15:05 PM »
What foul that is simultaneous with the kick, committed by either team, would cause you NOT to kill the play, other than illegal sub/participation?

How about...
6-1-8...Free Kick OOB

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2561
  • FAN REACTION: +315/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Question about Free Kick foul
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2018, 09:50:04 AM »
How about...
6-1-8...Free Kick OOB

Only if a near-sighted BJ (L in 4-man crew) mistook the restraining line, located 2 yards from the sidelines, as a hash mark and spotted the ball for the ensuing kickoff there. The kick would be dead before, during and after the kickoff. This would assume that 2-29-3 would treat the kicking tee as "anything". The illegal tee rule would not apply in this situation as this type of kick could only occur in the minds of the demented 8].

Hope this helps to clairify. tiphat:

Offline KWH

  • *
  • Posts: 314
  • FAN REACTION: +72/-39
I think I may have one?
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2018, 11:37:05 AM »

Hope this helps to clairify. tiphat:

Oops, I beg your pardon Ralph, I clearly misread the original post. So, in response to the original post...
One possible illegal act, occurring simultaneous with the Free Kick, in which the play would remain live, would be...
Interlocked Blocking by K, as defined in 9-2-1b  (Example - Two or more K players holding hands or interlocking arms when the ball is kicked)

Comment: Often times, when a barmaid has called last call, I have had to Grasp AND Encircle Ralph in an effort to get him moving toward our next whistle stop!  :thumbup
« Last Edit: May 15, 2018, 11:39:17 AM by KWH »