Author Topic: Punt play and clock status  (Read 295 times)

Offline Stinterp

  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-5
Punt play and clock status
« on: July 20, 2018, 08:21:13 AM »
4th and 10 from the 50 yard line.  Team K punter is roughed by R-50 just after kicking the ball. During the kick, K-15 is flagged for an illegal block below the waist at the R-40 yard line. The ball rolls to a stop in the field of play at the R-20 and the official blows his whistle. What are the options and what is the clock status?

Offline Badger1

  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-3
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Punt play and clock status
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2018, 09:08:19 AM »
PSK does not apply as the foul on R was behind the LOS.  Offsetting fouls, replay the down and clock starts on the ready. 

Offline GA Umpire

  • *
  • Posts: 120
  • FAN REACTION: +12/-0
Re: Punt play and clock status
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2018, 03:03:59 PM »
PSK does not apply as the foul on R was behind the LOS.  Offsetting fouls, replay the down and clock starts on the ready.

What he said.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2606
  • FAN REACTION: +320/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Punt play and clock status
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2018, 11:40:11 AM »
When PSK was drawn up in 2003 an important component was 2-16-2h(3) to not treat roughing the kicker as a PSK foul.