Author Topic: Illegal Batting?  (Read 683 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 3213
  • FAN REACTION: +398/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Illegal Batting?
« Reply #25 on: December 11, 2019, 11:04:18 AM »
Ralph, as a long time NFHS rules guy what's your take on why 6-1-7 is in the book?
IMHO, while the free kick is still in the 10 yard neutral zone it is treated the same as a punt. Thus ,first touching would apply. 6-2-5 gives a similar situation for scrimmage kicks. Possibly ,under rule 6, you could have a section :" First touching"; but there is a difference as it has to occur in the neutral zone for a free kick and down field for a scrimmage kick. I can't recall of this ever being discussed - even at last call  :) - and would be an editorial change ,if made.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 3213
  • FAN REACTION: +398/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Illegal Batting?
« Reply #26 on: December 11, 2019, 12:48:55 PM »
Thank you Ralph.  just a point of clarification but under your points 2 and 3...they would be the same spot if R never possesses the ball?
By rule, R would possess the kick if it just rolled dead, went OOB or into the EZ. If R muffed the kick and K recovered, R's choices would be limited to penalty from previous spot or decline and take the ball at the spot of first trouching.