Author Topic: 9.7.1 SITUATION B: 2019 CASEBOOK Page 94 & 95.  (Read 301 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 86
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
9.7.1 SITUATION B: 2019 CASEBOOK Page 94 & 95.
« on: June 17, 2019, 03:09:17 PM »
It is fourth and 10 for A from its own 15-yard line. Al fakes a kick and runs beyond the neutral zone and kicks the ball at the 20. The kicked ball (a) is caught by A2 at A's 30 and he is downed there; or (b) goes out of bounds at midfield; or (c) comes to rest on A's 45 and no player of either team will touch it, so the covering official sounds his whistle. Ruling: The kick is illegal and the resulting loose ball is treated as a fumble. The normal kicking rules and restrictions are not in effect during an illegal kick. In (a), (b) and (c) if the penalty for the illegal kick is declined, it will be A's ball first and 10 from the yard line where the ball became dead. If the distance penalty is accepted, B may elect enforcement from the end of the run which is the spot of the illegal kick or may elect enforcement from the succeeding spot. [2-24-9,2-33-1d,4-2-2e(2),6-2-1,10-4-2-EXCEPTION]

This has got to be a mistake by the Feds to cite 10-4-2 EXCEPTION. 

Offline CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 1103
  • FAN REACTION: +30/-31
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9.7.1 SITUATION B: 2019 CASEBOOK Page 94 & 95.
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2019, 04:01:10 PM »
Yeah I canít think of any reason we could even apply succeeding spot enforcement on this play.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 2406
  • FAN REACTION: +72/-13
Re: 9.7.1 SITUATION B: 2019 CASEBOOK Page 94 & 95.
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2019, 09:23:50 PM »
The Arbiter still has the 2018 case book on the NF publications.  The same case play is used but leaves out 10-4-2 Exception so somebody had it added for this year.

Offline KWH

  • *
  • Posts: 409
  • FAN REACTION: +172/-40
Re: 9.7.1 SITUATION B: 2019 CASEBOOK Page 94 & 95.
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2019, 10:39:50 PM »

10-4-2 EXCEPTION is not applicable here.
10-4-2 Exception is for K fouls which occur during a LEGAL kick.
Team A did not become Team K as they did not meet the requirements of 2-43-3 (No LEGAL Kick)

No legal kick means there was no Team K. No Team K means 10-4-2 is not available

The error has been reported to the NFHS

Unfortunately the NFHS made the same ruling error in 9.7.1 SITUATION C (a)

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 3081
  • FAN REACTION: +383/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9.7.1 SITUATION B: 2019 CASEBOOK Page 94 & 95.
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2019, 08:02:31 AM »
I fully agree with the noted author of our tack-on (who also outlawed the Oregonian flea-flicker). Our current president would call this "fake news"...you may wish to call it something else. :)

Offline CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 1103
  • FAN REACTION: +30/-31
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9.7.1 SITUATION B: 2019 CASEBOOK Page 94 & 95.
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2019, 08:07:27 AM »
Lol. I'd rather not. I move we hire George Demetriou as publishing editor of the rule and case books.