Author Topic: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3  (Read 365 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« on: August 15, 2019, 07:58:29 PM »
Had some discussion with these fouls with regard to the progression of enforcement. Example: In the first quarter the official on A's sideline makes contact, (9-4-8), with an A coach in the restricted zone. Then later in the second period, A is flagged for being in the restricted zone (no contact 9-8-3). We have ruled here in SC that his warning has been given in effect after the 9-4-8 instance, therefore, A is penalized 5 yards. If there is either a 9-4-8 violation or a 9-8-3 the coach is ejected. What do you think?

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 656
  • FAN REACTION: +39/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2019, 08:15:02 PM »
That is not the enforcement in NC.

The sideline warnings go 0 yard, 5 yard, 15 yard.

Sideline interference is 15 yards every time, second offense is coach ejection.

These are separate penalties with separate stacking enforcements, although you can mix and match the 2 15 yarders for ejection purposes.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1483
  • FAN REACTION: +82/-23
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2019, 08:57:11 PM »
although you can mix and match the 2 15 yarders for ejection purposes.

I don't think you can.  Like you said before, they are separate entities.  Unintentional contact with a game official is a "personal foul" charged to the head coach, not a UNS.

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 656
  • FAN REACTION: +39/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2019, 09:25:10 PM »
I don't think you can.  Like you said before, they are separate entities.  Unintentional contact with a game official is a "personal foul" charged to the head coach, not a UNS.

Yeah, that's right -- I know the sideline contact and a "garden variety" UNS don't stack, but a third sideline warning is UNS and would stack with any other UNS, but not the sideline contact.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 3049
  • FAN REACTION: +381/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2019, 07:41:10 AM »
NCwingman is right that Bossman is right. They are considered separate.

Offline CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 977
  • FAN REACTION: +27/-28
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2019, 07:48:10 AM »
Ralph is right that NC is Right that Bossman is right.
Geez, I'm ready for the season to start..  ;D

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 2369
  • FAN REACTION: +71/-13
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2019, 09:31:57 AM »
Geez, I'm ready for the season to start..  ;D


Last scrimmage tonight.  Week 1 is next Friday, well Thursday if you count JV.  Some NC private schools are starting tonight.

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2019, 10:18:57 PM »
So let me revisit: In the first quarter there is a violation, contact in the restricted zone 9-4-8 against A, a 15-yard penalty. Later in the period there is a violation against A with no contact, 9-8-3, 1st offense a sideline warning. Then in the second period another violation against A, 9-8-3 no contact we assess a 5-yard penalty. Then A commits its third violation of rule 9-8-3 this is now a 15-yard unsportsmanlike A's first, no ejection because the violation in the first quarter of rule 9-4-8 is not considered unsportsmanlike.

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 2369
  • FAN REACTION: +71/-13
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2019, 08:38:52 AM »
9-4- Art. 8 Unintentional contact with a game official in the restricted area (S38-29) 15 yards Nonplayer foul. For the first offense, 15 yards from the succeeding spot. For the second offense (S38-29-47) 15 yards from the succeeding spot and disqualification of the head coach.

9-8-Arts., 3 Nonplayer foul First offense (S15) warning, Second offense (S7-29) 5 yards, Each subsequent offense (S7-29-27) 15 yards;

9-4-8 involves contact, 9-8-3 does not.  Different rules, different fouls, different penalties.  They don't mix.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1483
  • FAN REACTION: +82/-23
Re: 9-4-8 & 9-8-3
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2019, 10:41:28 PM »
So let me revisit: In the first quarter there is a violation, contact in the restricted zone 9-4-8 against A, a 15-yard penalty. Later in the period there is a violation against A with no contact, 9-8-3, 1st offense a sideline warning. Then in the second period another violation against A, 9-8-3 no contact we assess a 5-yard penalty. Then A commits its third violation of rule 9-8-3 this is now a 15-yard unsportsmanlike A's first, no ejection because the violation in the first quarter of rule 9-4-8 is not considered unsportsmanlike.

This is correct.  They each have their own "buckets" and you can't mix them.