Author Topic: Double Foul on punt  (Read 2571 times)

Offline JugglingReferee

  • *
  • Posts: 1055
  • FAN REACTION: +40/-15
  • Ἰησοῦς Χριστός, Θεοῦ Υἱός, Σωτήρ
Double Foul on punt
« on: October 02, 2010, 09:26:02 AM »
4D/10 @ A-30.  B is flagged for the RTK and after the COP, BRF.

Ruling?

Offline Livin' in the pit

  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-0
Re: Double Foul on punt
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 10:30:08 PM »
4D/10 @ A-30.  B is flagged for the RTK and after the COP, BRF.

Ruling?

'Splain what BRF is? (Didya mean BFR? - block from rear?)

Offline JugglingReferee

  • *
  • Posts: 1055
  • FAN REACTION: +40/-15
  • Ἰησοῦς Χριστός, Θεοῦ Υἱός, Σωτήρ
Re: Double Foul on punt
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2010, 12:04:42 AM »
Oooops.   Yes I meant BFR.

Offline Livin' in the pit

  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-0
Re: Double Foul on punt
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2010, 07:27:17 AM »
Oooops.   Yes I meant BFR.
8.6.4
Where UR or RP occurs before a change of possession and another penalty such as Holding or Blocking from
the Rear occurs after the change of possession, if the UR or PP penalty is chosen to cancel the change of
possession, the other penalties are not applied (except another UR or RP).

Offline JugglingReferee

  • *
  • Posts: 1055
  • FAN REACTION: +40/-15
  • Ἰησοῦς Χριστός, Θεοῦ Υἱός, Σωτήρ
Re: Double Foul on punt
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2010, 07:44:57 AM »
Correct.

How would you signal that penalty that is not applied?

I think that it is different than declining the penalty.  Teams must accept fouls in the order they occur, which means that the BFR is "disregarded".  What is the signal for a disregarded penalty?  It is the same as a declined penalty?

Offline Livin' in the pit

  • *
  • Posts: 677
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-0
Re: Double Foul on punt
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2010, 03:46:56 PM »
Correct.

How would you signal that penalty that is not applied?

I think that it is different than declining the penalty.  Teams must accept fouls in the order they occur, which means that the BFR is "disregarded".  What is the signal for a disregarded penalty?  It is the same as a declined penalty?

A could accept the Illegal Block and have the UR applied after, so B would be L-10 PBH, then L-15 (unrestricted) thereafter. So, in reality, A is declining the illegal block, to enforce the UR at PLS.

I'd signal the IB as declined for that reason.

Before or after the UR signal? Dunno. I'd say before - even though that's not book - because declining the IB is what establishes the pre-change-of-possession application.

Offline JugglingReferee

  • *
  • Posts: 1055
  • FAN REACTION: +40/-15
  • Ἰησοῦς Χριστός, Θεοῦ Υἱός, Σωτήρ
Re: Double Foul on punt
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2010, 06:47:51 PM »
I've thought about this in the past, and I always first signal any fouls that are waived off, such as NY because the player in the RZ was onside.

Then signal the declined fouls, grouping offsetting fouls together, then lastly the accepted foul.

I had this situation in the summer, on a TV game, and I think I may have just verbalized that the BFR (actually the 15y variety) was "disregarded" without giving the decline signal.  Then I gave the RTK signal.

I like your logic though for signalling the decline.