Author Topic: A ground rule single---how so???  (Read 4797 times)

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2693
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
A ground rule single---how so???
« on: July 31, 2013, 07:38:41 AM »
A few years ago, Red Sox hitter JD Drew (yes, I'm a member of Red Sox Nation) hit a line drive at Fenway that bounced into the right field bullpen. The official scorer credited him with a single....how so????? ???

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2286
  • FAN REACTION: +70/-25
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 12:09:30 PM »
A few years ago, Red Sox hitter JD Drew (yes, I'm a member of Red Sox Nation) hit a line drive at Fenway that bounced into the right field bullpen. The official scorer credited him with a single....how so????? ???

Bases loaded, tie game, bottom of 9th?  Unless a HR is hit, batter is credited only with the number of bases needed to score the winning run.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2693
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2013, 12:34:21 PM »
Good job, 'Bama, you nailed it. It was Game #5 of the Championship Series with the Rays  , with R @ 3,tie game & bottom of 9th , when JD bounced a liner into the bullpen. The official scorer's announcement that it would be scored as a single didn't dampen the spirits of those of us from Red Sox Nation - that dampening came after game #7 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(!
« Last Edit: July 31, 2013, 12:36:33 PM by Ralph Damren »

Offline TampaSteve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1326
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-11
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2013, 01:00:49 PM »
Good job, 'Bama, you nailed it. It was Game #5 of the Championship Series with the Rays  , with R @ 3,tie game & bottom of 9th , when JD bounced a liner into the bullpen. The official scorer's announcement that it would be scored as a single didn't dampen the spirits of those of us from Red Sox Nation - that dampening came after game #7 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(!
(insert anti BOS comment here)....
pun
 :D   jk

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1857
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2013, 06:11:07 PM »
How was Big Papi's latest big hit scored?

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2693
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2013, 01:27:59 PM »
Most of Big Papi's walkoff hits go yard, so everyone scores includung Big Papi' yEs:

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1857
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2013, 04:23:13 PM »
Noooo I mean this one:


Offline TampaSteve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1326
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-11
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2013, 07:34:43 AM »
more to this topic, is it a "ground rule" single (is that its official term for the scenario)? - or is it merely scored a "single"?

Offline maven

  • *
  • Posts: 620
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2013, 12:05:34 PM »
Noooo I mean this one:



A strikeout and an error? ;)
Quality is not an act, it is a habit.
Aristotle

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2693
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2013, 07:17:29 AM »
TampaSteve - It's truly only a single. Boston scribes referred to it as a "ground-rule single". Boston scribes are not always correct :o! Welpe & Maven - That was scored : Big Papi 1, telephone 0. It caused a dilemma for the manager to call the bullpen, though :P. Big Papi is still remembered in Red Sox Nation for his "motivational speech" at Fenway the day after the Patriots Day bomber was caught. ;) The FCC forgave him, so I felt I should too. 8]

Offline Matt

  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-2
Re: A ground rule single---how so???
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2013, 03:55:46 PM »
Some of his teammates did replace the phone the next day with a couple cans and some string. ;D