Author Topic: TASO Mini Quiz 5  (Read 335 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online dammitbobby

  • *
  • Posts: 423
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-5
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
TASO Mini Quiz 5
« on: May 25, 2021, 03:01:33 PM »
MINI QUIZ #5 2021 SEASON

1. 3d and 10 at the A-25, 5 minutes remaining in 1st period. Receiver A88 is at the A-45 when he leaps in the air to receive a forward pass. He grabs the ball while the ball is at the A-45. He is hit while airborne and driven backwards, falling to the ground on his back with the ball inbounds at the A-42 as he maintains his grasp on it.

RULING: A1/10 at the A45, Since he came down inbounds, the spot of the catch is his forward progress when he possessed the ball, regardless of where he actually first touched the ground (except if his first contact with the ground was OOB, then it's incomplete.)

2. 3d and 10 at the A-40. As Team A is huddled, the back judge recognizes the crew mistakenly allowed Team A to repeat 1st down after an intentional grounding penalty. Had they not done that, it would now be 4th down.

RULING:  5.2.9:  Rule Decisions Final
No rule decision may be changed after the ball is next legally snapped, legally free-kicked or the second or fourth periods have ended (Rules 3-2-1-a, 3-3-4-e-2 and 11-1). (Exception: The number of a down may be corrected any time within that series of downs or before the ball is legally next put in play after that series.)

Since it is still the same series of downs, the crew can correct the error, and make it 4/10.  RIP to the wing official who has to go explain the error to A's coach.

3. 2d and 6 at the A-30. As run ends with the nose of the ball about 6 inches short of A-36. The down box is changed to 3 as the crew prepares for the next play. The play clock is running and the ball is ready for play. The Team A head coach asks the line judge to have a measurement done.

RULING:  Too late to ask, by rule no measurement can be performed once the ball is RFP, 5.1.c.3

4. 3d and 15 at the B-20. Team As attempted field goal is blocked and the ball rolls out of bounds at the B30.

RULING: Bs ball 1/10 at B30.  (AR 8-4-2-VI).

8-4-2-2:
If the ball does not cross the neutral zone, or if Team B touches the ball after it crosses the neutral zone, all rules pertaining to scrimmage kicks apply.

5. 4th and goal at the B-9. Team As run ends out of bounds at the B-5. A Team B player hits the runner
after the runner has taken 2 steps out of bounds.

RULING: Dead ball PF.  Since the foul occurred after the failure reach the LTG, it is B's ball.  Enforcement is 1/2 distance from the spot, 1/10 from 2.5.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2021, 05:10:33 PM by dammitbobby »

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 2029
  • FAN REACTION: +115/-90
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: TASO Mini Quiz 5
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2021, 04:50:21 PM »
MINI QUIZ #5 2021 SEASON

1. 3d and 10 at the A-25, 5 minutes remaining in 1st period. Receiver A88 is at the A-45 when he leaps in the air to receive a forward pass. He grabs the ball while the ball is at the A-45. He is hit while airborne and driven backwards, falling to the ground on his back with the ball inbounds at the A-42 as he maintains his grasp on it.

RULING: A1/10 at the A45, Since he came down inbounds, the spot of the catch is his forward progress when he possessed the ball, regardless of where he actually first touched the ground (except if his first contact with the ground was OOB, then it's incomplete.)
Be careful. If he lands and stays on his feet and is able to attempt to advance, and/or is THEN contacted and held/downed, then his progress is to the point where he was contacted.

2. 3d and 10 at the A-40. As Team A is huddled, the back judge recognizes the crew mistakenly allowed Team A to repeat 1st down after an intentional grounding penalty. Had they not done that, it would now be 4th down.

RULING:  5.2.9:  Rule Decisions Final
No rule decision may be changed after the ball is next legally snapped, legally free-kicked or the second or fourth periods have ended (Rules 3-2-1-a, 3-3-4-e-2 and 11-1). (Exception: The number of a down may be corrected any time within that series of downs or before the ball is legally next put in play after that series.)

Since it is still the same series of downs, the crew can correct the error, and make it 4/10.  RIP to the wing official who has to go explain the error to A's coach. No disrespect at all to wing officials, but, somehow, the coach is never satisfied with the wing official's explanation, and he always wants to talk to the "white hat" - like that will change anything. ::)

3. 2d and 6 at the A-30. As run ends with the nose of the ball about 6 inches short of A-36. The down box is changed to 3 as the crew prepares for the next play. The play clock is running and the ball is ready for play. The Team A head coach asks the line judge to have a measurement done.

RULING:  Too late to ask, by rule no measurement can be performed once the ball is RFP, 5.1.c.3

4. 3d and 15 at the B-20. Team As attempted field goal is blocked and the ball rolls out of bounds at the B30.

RULING: Bs ball 1/10 at B30.  (AR 6-4-2-6).  Hmmm. There is no AR 6-4-2-6. What reference did you really mean?

8-4-2-2:
If the ball does not cross the neutral zone, or if Team B touches the ball after it crosses the neutral zone, all rules pertaining to scrimmage kicks apply.
The most applicable reference is 6-3-7. Yes, 8-4-2-2 applies, by pointing us to other rules pertaining to scrimmage kicks (i.e., 6-3-7).

5. 4th and goal at the B-9. Team As run ends out of bounds at the B-5. A Team B player hits the runner
after the runner has taken 2 steps out of bounds.

RULING: Dead ball PF.  Since the foul occurred after the failure reach the LTG, it is B's ball.  Enforcement is 1/2 distance from the spot, 1/10 from 2.5..
The penalty is 1/2 the distance from the succeeding spot. (You just said "spot" and there are a lot of possible spots.)

Online dammitbobby

  • *
  • Posts: 423
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-5
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
Re: TASO Mini Quiz 5
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2021, 05:03:52 PM »
Reference should be 8-4-2-VI.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2021, 05:09:59 PM by dammitbobby »