Other Sports > Baseball

Run doesn't count?

(1/3) > >>

Grant - AR:
I'm sure most of you have seen this already...and it's pretty funny.  But, if they had eventually thrown the ball to first base before the running got there (force out), the run would not have counted, right?

https://twitter.com/barstoolsports/status/1397966525508816899?s=21

GA Umpire:

--- Quote from: carol1995 on June 01, 2021, 04:25:48 PM ---I'm sure most of you have seen this already...and it's pretty funny.  But, if they had eventually thrown the ball to first base before the running got there (force out), the run would not have counted, right?

https://twitter.com/barstoolsports/status/1397966525508816899?s=21

--- End quote ---
Correct.

JasonTX:
A rundown between home and first should never happen.  Someone would be losing their job at first base.  Little leaguers are expected to not mess that up.  These are professionals.   :puke:

Ralph Damren:
I believe the MLB rule on retreating back toward home is that you can get to it but not beyond it - note the batter/runner stopped just before he got to the plate  :o ! I agree with Jason, you might see this is little league or T-ball but not here. Great post, Carol  aWaRd .

bama_stripes:

--- Quote from: carol1995 on June 01, 2021, 04:25:48 PM ---I'm sure most of you have seen this already...and it's pretty funny.  But, if they had eventually thrown the ball to first base before the running got there (force out), the run would not have counted, right?

https://twitter.com/barstoolsports/status/1397966525508816899?s=21

--- End quote ---

Thatís right. With two outs, no runs score if the batter/runner is retired before he reaches first base.  It doesn't matter if itís via a tag or a throw.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version