Football Officiating > NCAA Discussion

S/B Quiz 4

(1/2) > >>

ElvisLives:
1.   1/10 @ A-25. Defender B21 is in press coverage, and at the snap B21 strikes wideout A88 in the face mask. A88 is initially disrupted from running the route. A12 is sacked for a 7-yard loss.
RULING:
A, 1/10, A-40, ready (25). “Illegal hands to the face; number 21; defense. That’s a 15-yard penalty, and a first down.”
HTF foul by B21 is penalized at the previous spot, 15 yards, with a first down.

2.   1/10 @ A-25. Receiver A83 leaps and receives a forward pass. Just as A83 returns to the ground at the A-45, B20 launches and drives his shoulder into A83’s neck and face mask area. A83 is ruled down at the A-45. This contact occurs in the second half.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-40, ready (25). “Personal Foul with Targeting; number 20; defense. That’s a 15-yard penalty, and a first down. Number 20 is disqualified. The previous down is under further review.” “After further review, the ruling on the field is confirmed.”
B20 commits a 9-1-4 targeting foul (all elements are present: defenseless player, indicator, forcible contact, contact to opponent’s head/neck area). B2- is disqualified for the remainder of this game.

3.   1/10 @ A-40. End A81 is split far to the left of the formation, to the outside of defensive end B89. On a sweep play in B89’s direction, the defender moves to his left to focus on the ball carrier, losing sight of A81. A81 then cuts to the inside, takes aim and launches at B89, forcibly contacting him with his forearm to B89’s neck at the A-42. The runner gains 12 yards on the play.
RULING:
B, 1/23, A-27, ready (25). “Illegal blindside block with Targeting; number 81; offense. That’s a 15-yard penalty; repeat 2nd down. The previous down is under further review.” “After further review, the ruling on the field is confirmed.”
Illegal blindside block WITH 9-1-4 targeting by A81. Per 3 and 1 principle, the penalty is enforced at the spot of the foul (A-42).

4.   3/3 @ B-40. With the clock running, QB A12 is in shotgun formation and makes a fake clap while chucking his shoulders and hands forward in an exaggerated motion simulating the start of the play. A12 takes the snap and hands to A44 who gains 4 yards.
RULING:
A, 3/8, B-45, ready (25). “No play. Before the ball could be snapped, false start; number 12; offense. That’s a 5-yard penalty; third down.”
A12 commits a false start with the ‘chucking’ of his shoulders and thrusting of his hands. Action is stopped, and the dead-ball foul is enforced at the succeeding spot.

5.   3/3 @ B-40. With the clock running, QB A12 is in shotgun formation and makes a fake clap standing in position. A12 takes the snap and hands to A44 who gains 4 yards.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-36, ready (40 and running). No announcement.
No foul. Per AR 7-1-2-V, a fake clap in a standing position is no foul.

6.   1/10 @ A-40. At the snap A82 is positioned on the line of scrimmage to the right side of the formation, 10 yards from the snapper. Back A31, a flanker positioned to the left side of the formation, runs a deep reverse to the right side after receiving the ball from a teammate. As the play develops A82 blocks linebacker B62 back toward the original position of the ball at the A-43. The block by A82 is below the waist and directly at the front, clearly inside the “10 o’clock to 2 o’clock” area. Runner A31 gains 10- yards to the fifty.
RULING:
A, 1/22, A-28, ready (25). “Illegal block below the waist; number 82; offense; that’s a 15-yard penalty; repeat first down.”
A82 was outside the tackle box at the snap, and is restricted from blocking below the waist toward the ball. Additionally, the ball has left the tackle box, which also restricts all offensive players from blocking below the waist toward the ball.

7.   2/20 @ A-30. Quarterback A11 drops back in the pocket and sets up to pass. He then scrambles to his right, sets up again and is in the passing posture when he is hit by end B88 who drives his shoulder into A11’s knee at the A-25. A11 then pulls the ball in and goes to the ground because of being tackled by B88.
RULING:
A, 1/10, A-45, ready (25). “Personal foul; number 88; defense; contact at the knee of a player in a passing posture. That’s a 15-yard penalty and a first down.”
A forcible block (without a tackling action) by an opponent of an offensive player in a passing posture at or below the knee of the offensive player, is roughing the passer. Per 3 and 1, enforcement in this case is at the previous spot.

8.   1/10 @ A-25. After snapping the ball, snapper A54 brushes by nose guard B62 on his way to block a linebacker. A54 makes slight contact with B62 and while B62 and A54 are in contact, right guard A68 blocks B62 at the knee from the front at the A-26. Runner A44 gains 7 yards on the play.
RULING:
A, 2/3, A-32, ready-when ball is spotted (40 and running). No announcement.
Incidental contact is not “blocking,” by rule. If A54 does not officially block B62, then there is no possibility of a chop block with A68 on B62.

Snapper:

--- Quote from: ElvisLives on July 29, 2021, 09:12:06 PM ---
6.   1/10 @ A-40. At the snap A82 is positioned on the line of scrimmage to the right side of the formation, 10 yards from the snapper. Back A31, a flanker positioned to the left side of the formation, runs a deep reverse to the right side after receiving the ball from a teammate. As the play develops A82 blocks linebacker B62 back toward the original position of the ball at the A-43. The block by A82 is below the waist and directly at the front, clearly inside the “10 o’clock to 2 o’clock” area. Runner A31 gains 10- yards to the fifty.
RULING:
A, 1/22, A-28, ready (25). “Illegal block below the waist; number 82; offense; that’s a 15-yard penalty; repeat first down.”
A82 was outside the tackle box at the snap, and is restricted from blocking below the waist toward the ball. Additionally, the ball has left the tackle box, which also restricts all offensive players from blocking below the waist toward the ball.


--- End quote ---

I agree with most everything you have.  However a small quibble with one part of your explanation.  At least as how I understand the "crackback" rule.

The ball leaving the tackle box does not restrict all offensive players from blocking below the waist toward the ball.  The ball leaving the tackle box does restrict them from making a block below the waist toward their own end line (a "peel back block").  And it also restricts linemen to blocking below the waist only from 10 to 2.

But the ability to "crackback" is determined by whether the player has been outside the tackle box or was in motion at the snap.

ElvisLives:

--- Quote from: Snapper on July 30, 2021, 07:22:23 AM ---I agree with most everything you have.  However a small quibble with one part of your explanation.  At least as how I understand the "crackback" rule.

The ball leaving the tackle box does not restrict all offensive players from blocking below the waist toward the ball.  The ball leaving the tackle box does restrict them from making a block below the waist toward their own end line (a "peel back block").  And it also restricts linemen to blocking below the waist only from 10 to 2.

But the ability to "crackback" is determined by whether the player has been outside the tackle box or was in motion at the snap.

--- End quote ---

In today's "inclusive" environment, I was a tiny bit too inclusive. Yes, a lineman within the tackle at the snap, and who has not left the TB, may BBW toward the ball from the side or front, until the ball leaves the TB. After the ball leaves the TB, and such lineman has not not been outside the TB, such lineman may BBW from the front, toward the ball, within the tackle box. But, 9-1-6-a-2 clearly tells us that a Team A player - any Team A player - outside the tackle at the snap, or who is outside the tackle box any time after the snap, may not BBW toward the ball.
So, how would that happen (legally)?
1) 1/10, A-30. Lineman A66, immediately to the left of the snapper at the snap, has retreated to the A-28 and is unengaged, when he see B77 escape from the snapper's block and is moving directly toward BC A11, who is in a passing posture. At the same time, A11 has released a pass and the ball has left the TB when A66 dives to his right, toward B77, contacting B77 at the knees, and within the "10-2" region. The contact occurred at the A-29, immediately behind the spot where the ball was snapped.
Ruling: Legal BBW, toward the ball, after the ball has left the TB, because A66 never left the TB. And quite plausible, too.

2) 1/10, A-30. Lineman A66, immediately to the left of the snapper at the snap, is blocking B99 to the ground at the A-29 and approximately 2 yards to the left of the spot where the ball was snapped. BC A11 has carried the ball 8 yards to the left of the spot where the ball was snapped when A66 moves to his right, and blocks B77 directly from the front, at B77's knees, at the A-29 1/2, and one yard to the left of the the spot where the ball was snapped.
Ruling: Legal BBW, toward the ball, after the ball has left the TB, because A66 never left the TB. This is plausible, although probably very, very unusual.

3) 1/10, A-30. Lineman A88, 4 1/2 yards to the left of the snapper at the snap, moves directly back to the A-28, anticipating a quick pass from A11. A11 muffs the snap, recovers the ball, and moves to his left. When A11 has moved 8 yards to the left of the spot where the ball was snapped, A88 (having remained in place to this point) moves to his right, and, at the A-28, dives at B77, contacting B77 directly from the front at the knees at the A-29, at a spot 4 yards to the left of the spot where the ball was snapped.
Ruling: Legal BBW toward the ball, because A88 never left the TB.

So, what would an illegal BBW toward the ball by a lineman look like?
4) 1/10, A-30. Lineman A66, immediately to the left of the snapper at the snap, moves to his left at the A-29, leading blocking for BC A11. A66 has moved to a point 8 yards from the spot where the ball was snapped, when he looks over his right shoulder and sees B77 chasing and closing rapidly on A11. A66 reverses his movement, and approaches B77 directly from the front, and dives at B77, contacting B77 at the knees, at the A-29.
Ruling: Illegal BBW by A66, as he had been outside the tackle box, and the block was toward the ball.

5) 1/10, A-30. Lineman A88, 4 1/2 yards to the left of the snapper at the snap, moves two yards directly to his left at the snap and back to the A-28, anticipating a quick pass from A11. A11 muffs the snap, recovers the ball, and moves to his left. When A11 is 8 yards left of the spot where the ball was snapped, A88 moves back to the right and, at the A-28, dives at B77, contacting B77 directly from the front at the knees at the A-29, at a spot 4 yards to the left of the spot where the ball was snapped.
Ruling: Illegal BBW, because A88 had left the TB.

So, yes, under a very restricted set of circumstances, a BBW toward the ball after the ball has left the TB, can be legal.
 

dammitbobby:

--- Quote from: ElvisLives on July 29, 2021, 09:12:06 PM ---
3.   1/10 @ A-40. End A81 is split far to the left of the formation, to the outside of defensive end B89. On a sweep play in B89’s direction, the defender moves to his left to focus on the ball carrier, losing sight of A81. A81 then cuts to the inside, takes aim and launches at B89, forcibly contacting him with his forearm to B89’s neck at the A-42. The runner gains 12 yards on the play.
RULING:
B, 1/23, A-27, ready (25). “Illegal blindside block with Targeting; number 81; offense. That’s a 15-yard penalty; repeat 2nd down. The previous down is under further review.” “After further review, the ruling on the field is confirmed.”
Illegal blindside block WITH 9-1-4 targeting by A81. Per 3 and 1 principle, the penalty is enforced at the spot of the foul (A-42).


Repeat first down or second down?  You have both...
--- End quote ---

ElvisLives:

--- Quote from: dammitbobby on July 30, 2021, 02:13:15 PM ---
--- Quote from: ElvisLives on July 29, 2021, 09:12:06 PM ---
3.   1/10 @ A-40. End A81 is split far to the left of the formation, to the outside of defensive end B89. On a sweep play in B89’s direction, the defender moves to his left to focus on the ball carrier, losing sight of A81. A81 then cuts to the inside, takes aim and launches at B89, forcibly contacting him with his forearm to B89’s neck at the A-42. The runner gains 12 yards on the play.
RULING:
B, 1/23, A-27, ready (25). “Illegal blindside block with Targeting; number 81; offense. That’s a 15-yard penalty; repeat 2nd down. The previous down is under further review.” “After further review, the ruling on the field is confirmed.”
Illegal blindside block WITH 9-1-4 targeting by A81. Per 3 and 1 principle, the penalty is enforced at the spot of the foul (A-42).


Repeat first down or second down?  You have both...

--- End quote ---

Probably let my eye get distracted by something, and typed the wrong thing in the announcement. Obviously, if we are repeating the down, the next down will be first down, as indicated in the ruling.
Thanks.
--- End quote ---

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version