Other Sports > Basketball

Inbounding the ball question

(1/1)

CenTexZebra:
Team is inbounding the ball. Thrower sticks ball out over the line
And defender reaches out and grabs ball always from player. Is this legal?  And what is the NFHS rule

Eastshire:

--- Quote from: CenTexZebra on November 30, 2017, 10:20:48 AM ---Team is inbounding the ball. Thrower sticks ball out over the line
And defender reaches out and grabs ball always from player. Is this legal?  And what is the NFHS rule

--- End quote ---

The defender is allowed to touch/grab the ball if it is over the line. It is possible to have a held ball (jump ball) in this situation. The ball would then be put into play according to the AP arrow. (If it was an AP arrow throw-in to begin with, the same team would again be given the throw-in because the arrow doesn't change until the throw-in is complete and the throw-in is complete only if the ball has been passed and touched by another player or if the throwing team has a throw-in violation.)

Navigation

[0] Message Index

Go to full version