Author Topic: CORRECTIONS FOR KICKING GAME ONLINE PRESENTATION  (Read 1537 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4014
  • FAN REACTION: +179/-152
  • The rules are there if you need them.
CORRECTIONS FOR KICKING GAME ONLINE PRESENTATION
« on: August 16, 2024, 11:11:10 AM »
For those of you that have looked at the TASO online clinic presentation for the Kicking Game, please know that, somehow, a superseded version of the PowerPoint presentation was used. As a result, there are a couple of items of incorrect information on the slides. I take full responsibility for this, and would now like to offer correct information for the items discussed on those slides. Please pass this information along to all of your fellow TASO officials. Look for some form of corrective information from TASO, as well. (Please note that the PowerPoint used in Abilene was the correct one. Somehow, I used an older version when we recorded the online version. My most sincere apology.)
--------------------------------------

FREE KICKS (KICKOFFS AND FREE KICKS FOLLOWING SAFETIES)
Team A Player Out of Bounds
During any free kick down, no player of the Team A (kicking team) may go out of bounds voluntarily (i.e., without being blocked by an opponent) during the kick play portion of the down (from kick until possession by either team) and then return inbounds for the remainder of the down. The exception to that is a Team A player who gets blocked out of bounds and returns inbounds immediately (as soon as he possibly can after regaining his balance, getting to his feet, etc.). Note that ANY amount of contact is considered a block, for this purpose. If he stays out of bounds when he could have returned inbounds, he is, then, considered to be out of bounds 'voluntarily.'
If the player that is out of bounds 'voluntarily' returns inbounds for the remainder of the entire down (including while the ball is in return), that is a foul for an "illegal return." The penalty is 5-yards from the previous spot, and repeat the free kick, OR the penalty may be enforced at the spot where the dead-ball belongs to Team B.
Please note that a player who returns inbounds illegally is still allowed to block opponents, tackle the ball carrier, or touch the ball (if otherwise allowed for Team A). His only foul is for returning inbounds.
Also note that, once the ball is in possession (return), Team A players are then allowed to go out of bounds and return inbounds.

SCRIMMAGE KICKS (PUNTS AND FIELD GOAL ATTEMPTS)
Identically with free kicks, during any scrimmage kick down, no player of the Team A (kicking team) may go out of bounds voluntarily (i.e., without being blocked by an opponent) during the kick play portion of the down (from snap until possession by either team) and then return inbounds for the remainder of the down. The exception to that is a Team A player who gets blocked out of bounds and returns inbounds immediately (as soon as he possibly can after regaining his balance, getting to his feet, etc.). Note that ANY amount of contact is considered a block, for this purpose. If he stays out of bounds when he could have returned inbounds, he is, then, considered to be out of bounds 'voluntarily.'
If the player that is out of bounds 'voluntarily' returns inbounds for the remainder of the entire down (including while the ball is in return), that is a foul for an "illegal return." The penalty is 5-yards from the previous spot, and repeat the down, OR the penalty may be enforced at the spot where the dead-ball belongs to Team B.
Please note that a player who returns inbounds illegally is still allowed to block opponents, tackle the ball carrier, or touch the ball (if otherwise allowed for Team A). His only foul is for returning inbounds.
Also note that, once the ball is in possession (return), Team A players are then allowed to go out of bounds and return inbounds.

KICK CATCH INTERFERENCE
For clarification, Team A players my not enter the area one yard in front of a receiver, for the width of the receiver's shoulders, while that receiver is attempting to catch a legal free or scrimmage kick. A Team A player does not commit a foul if he is stationary or moving at either side of the receiver, and the receiver does not have to adjust his position to catch the ball. However, if the receiver has to adjust his position due to the presence or the 'buzzing' of the Team A player, the Team A player has committed a foul for interference. The key aspect is what effect it has on the receiver. (AR 6-4-1-VI, AR 6-4-1-XII)