Author Topic: Interesting Play  (Read 298 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bctgp

  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-9
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Interesting Play
« on: March 19, 2021, 05:28:35 PM »
During a play from scrimmage, Team A fumbles and the ball goes into Team B EZ, Team B player scoops it up and runs it out of the EZ.  During the run by Team B player, Team B is flagged for blocking below the waist in their EZ and Team A tackles the Team B runner by the face mask at the A-15.

Crew ruling:

Awarded safety, 2 pts. to Team A by enforcing the block below the waist at the spot of the foul (Team B EZ).  Team B kicks off at the B-35 after they penalize Team A for the facemask foul.

Correct ruling?

Online Legacy Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 779
  • FAN REACTION: +48/-9
Re: Interesting Play
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2021, 07:26:34 PM »
Incorrect. Because Team B gained possession prior to their foul, they have the option. They can choose to (temporarily) keep the ball by declining Team A's facemask and enforcing their block below the waist. That would result in a safety. However, if they choose that option, there is no penalty to enforce on the free kick.

The other (and more likely) option is to offset the fouls and replay the down. As bad as that is for Team B, it beats the option of a safety.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1754
  • FAN REACTION: +138/-24
Re: Interesting Play
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2021, 11:50:25 PM »
Incorrect. Because Team B gained possession prior to their foul, they have the option. They can choose to (temporarily) keep the ball by declining Team A's facemask and enforcing their block below the waist. That would result in a safety. However, if they choose that option, there is no penalty to enforce on the free kick.

The other (and more likely) option is to offset the fouls and replay the down. As bad as that is for Team B, it beats the option of a safety.

+1

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 1944
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-85
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Interesting Play
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2021, 07:38:00 AM »
Totally concur with Legacy. Although there might be a circumstance when Team B might want to take advantage of the “clean hands” provision (they may be winning by, say, 6 points, very late in the game and they may be willing to give up 2 points in exchange for changing field position with the free kick, to improve their chances of keeping Team A from scoring), such a circumstance would be rare. Even then, though, Team A’s penalty is declined, so there would be no enforcement on the free kick.

If the given scenario actually happened, I wonder how the crew arrived at this conclusion. Both fouls were live-ball (neither was a LBFPADBF), so, how did they conclude to penalize the FMM on the free kick?  We would need to know if the crew offered offsetting fouls to Team B, or if they just imposed the safety and enforced the FMM on the kickoff.
If they failed to offer B offsetting fouls, then this would be a catastrophic error, with the improper award of a score. If they did offer offsetting fouls, but B consciously elected to invoke the “clean hands” provision, then this would fall just short of a catastrophic error, in that the score would be correct, and the ball was not awarded to the wrong team, but a major penalty is imposed incorrectly.
Crew error. Somebody has to step up and keep this from happening.