RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: clyde on November 05, 2017, 06:41:12 AM
-
https://twitter.com/KySportsRadio/status/926960529926754310
I can't figure out how to insert a photo so I attached a link.
Is the runner down at this point? I'm a baseball official so I'm not as well-versed as you guys but I assumed he was. Call was that he was down.
Thanks
-
Runner is not down
The iPad has a mind of its own sometimes.
He is not down.
-
I disagree. The hand is the only thing touching the ground. This is a fumble. The wrist and ankle are considered parts of the hand and foot, respectively.
-
I disagree. The hand is the only thing touching the ground. This is a fumble. The wrist and ankle are considered parts of the hand and foot, respectively.
Agree
-
I need to see more of the play.
If reviewed I'm assuming they ruled ground caused the fumble?
-
I need to see more of the play.
If reviewed I'm assuming they ruled ground caused the fumble?
I'd prefer to not use reference to the ground and simply say that it appears that the ball came loose before the ball carrier was down by rule. And I would agree that attempting to make a fumble/not a fumble determination on a still picture is not a good idea. We need to see the whole play.
-
If reviewed I'm assuming they ruled ground caused the fumble?
"The ground cannot cause a fumble..." This universally known bit of announcer-speak is, I'd say, 98% accurate - but it's not the actual rule.
The actual rule is, the down ends at the instant the ball carrier is down. And he's down when any body part besides hands or feet touches the ground. So 98% of the time, if the ball pops out due to contact with the ground, it's popping out due to one of those body parts striking the ground. No fumble.
But here's a case when that fan aphorism is not the truth: Suppose a quarterback is palming the ball in one hand, and he stumbles and braces himself with both hands to avoid falling down, and the ball pops out. No other body part touched the ground. That is definitely a fumble, and the ground definitely caused it.