RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: mccormicw on November 08, 2017, 01:40:38 PM
-
http://www.swac.org//ViewArticle.dbml?SPID=93263&DB_OEM_ID=27400&ATCLID=211677363
-
Yeah they called this a TD
(https://bloximages.newyork1.vip.townnews.com/theadvocate.com/content/tncms/assets/v3/editorial/7/45/745ec7e5-9e6e-5a31-8bf6-d7c1d19fb493/59fe6bb6ea071.image.jpg?resize=1200%2C870)
-
Did they call that a TD because the official thought the ball crossed the goal line in possession of the runner? Or because the fumble went OOB in the EZ and they thought a TD was the result of the play?
One is a bad call, the other is a major misapplication of a basic and essential rule.
Did the whole crew discuss this call?
-
Replay? I’m drawing a blank. (Also sick as a dog today).
-
http://www.theadvocate.com/baton_rouge/sports/southern/article_f4af8ef0-c4b0-11e7-8c32-63df54bb12b6.html
IR was not available.
-
Yeah they called this a TD
(https://bloximages.newyork1.vip.townnews.com/theadvocate.com/content/tncms/assets/v3/editorial/7/45/745ec7e5-9e6e-5a31-8bf6-d7c1d19fb493/59fe6bb6ea071.image.jpg?resize=1200%2C870)
I'm trying to figure out what the S is looking at in this photo. The bill of his cap has him looking at the outside shoulder, so he might have been in self-preservation mode he seems super close to the pylon and in the path of B46.
-
Not defending, just commenting on fact. The yellow band of turf outside the sideline is 6’ wide. He is already outside the yellow, and you can’t tell which way he is moving. Although not well “square” with the goal line, he is generally where he should be, and he should be able to see the ball come loose, with its relationship to the goal line. What is he looking at? Hard to say. A single still photo tells so little. Was the BC nearly stepping OB just before this photo?
But, he isn’t in horrible position.
Robert
-
I have always been very very very circumspect about still photos, especially in our endeavor. So many factors can easily distort things in a photo. The easiest distortion to see and prove is distance. Telephoto lenses do more than bring objects closer to you. They bring them closer to each other. And on a straight line shot like this it is even worse.
-
Here's another view from a different angle. B23 reportedly made initial contact about the 5 yard line and according to the article the ball was almost "immediately out". Note that B46 is not in frame yet. Maybe A actually recovered in the EZ? I also agree with TxMike that still photos can be very misleading and alone don't tell us much of the "see the whole play" story. I'm sure that we would all like to see video so we can see the whole play.
[attachment deleted by admin]
-
I too would like more information.
If this is just an incorrect ruling of no fumble, it's a shame that all eight officials lost a gig. The article says it was a 21-yard catch and run. I can't conceive of such a play to the SJ's pylon where let's say the R, the CJ, and especially the LJ, are all negligent in not overruling the SJ. we're supposed to *not* ball-watch, after all.
Was it a case of "I have a fumble going through the back of the end zone" and the crew all says "Ah yes, touchdown"? Because there it IS on all eight officials for sure.
-
HM still supervises the SWAC officials?
-
Maybe the ball went into the end zone and came to rest and no player attempted to recover it. ^good
-
Ball didn't come to rest in the endzone. Trying to find video.
(https://hbcusports.com/forums/attachments/23131865_1745762835454294_1854030200388423201_n-jpg.5535/)
-
Don't you reckon that the conference office had plenty of video evidence to support the suspensions?
-
Let's not be too judgmental.
There, but for the grace of God, go I.
-
B23 reportedly
That guy is involved in lot of COC quiz questions.