RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: NVFOA_Ump on November 09, 2017, 08:22:08 AM

Title: 4th Down "Fumble"
Post by: NVFOA_Ump on November 09, 2017, 08:22:08 AM
A 4th and 3 at the B-28 yard line.  A is lined up in field goal formation.  Holder A12 muffs the snap and kicker A18 picks it up at the B-36, and immediately throws a pass to TE A88 who catches it at the B-24 yard line.  As A88 turns up field from the B-24 yard line we have a whistle from the R who has bagged the spot of the "fumble" and is pointing to that spot, the B-36.

What do we have?
Title: Re: 4th Down "Fumble"
Post by: TexDoc on November 09, 2017, 08:26:13 AM
A can take the ball where blown dead, B-24 it sounds like.  Or, they can replay the down.  IW rules apply.  Rule 3 I believe.
Title: Re: 4th Down "Fumble"
Post by: wlemonnier on November 09, 2017, 08:27:56 AM
An inadvertent whistle... a muff is not a fumble.  Based on your description, the whistle blew when the receiver had the ball at the 24-yard line so the choice for Team A is to have the down over or take the result of the play which appears to be a new first down.  Depending on the score/time, Coach will make this decision.