RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: #92 on November 13, 2017, 09:30:25 AM

Title: An injury timeout following a charged team timeout. Ready or snap?
Post by: #92 on November 13, 2017, 09:30:25 AM
Rule 3-3-5-c explicitly states: "An injury timeout may follow a charged team timeout." But what does that mean for the game clock? Based on the charged team timeout, one would think "snap", but after an injury timeout it should start on the "ready".

If we read Rules 3-3-2-d and 3-3-2-e, they state: "For each of the following, the game clock is stopped on an official’s signal. If the next play begins with a snap, the game clock will start on the snap/ready." But in this case the clock wasn't running at the moment the injury timeout was called. So it wasn't actually stopped either.

The same reasoning however could be made if a charged team timeout is called after Team A is awarded a first time. Although the clock is already stopped at the moment the charged team timeout is requested, we still start the clock on the snap. Is this because snap supersedes ready, or because we should take into account the latest reason to "stop" the clock?

So if we have an injury timeout after a charged team timeout, does snap supersede ready, or do we take into account the latest reason to "stop" the clock, i.e. the injury timeout, which makes the clock start on the ready?
Title: Re: An injury timeout following a charged team timeout. Ready or snap?
Post by: ElvisLives on November 13, 2017, 10:17:36 AM
3-3-2-f directs that those incidents that prescribe the clock to start on the snap supersede those incidents that prescribe the clock to start on the RFP.  As usual, there is an exception, and, in this case, it is the 10-second subtraction.  But not an injury timeout.

Robert