RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: east louis on July 27, 2011, 07:12:35 AM
-
got my books last night,w/ No 2011 part 1 test--did anybody else get one? if so.can I get it faxed or something?
-
It is my understanding that all tests will be taken online. No paper tests. If anyone has any other info on this please post. In Arkansas we can only take the test online and it will be available Aug 1.
-
In Arkansas we can only take the test online..
Same in Oklahoma.
-
No paper tests.
Not true. I have it. :thumbup
-
The test is available as a PDF file. The NFHS is no longer sending out paper test's. Our state office in CT was able to send it out to the board interpreters.
-
To piggy back on Skip1, their state also posted it online. I hope I dont get in trouble for this, but you can find it HERE (http://ccafo.org/documents/2011%20NFHS%20Football%20Exam1.pdf)
Good season to all!
-
To piggy back on Skip1, their state also posted it online. I hope I dont get in trouble for this, but you can find it HERE (http://ccafo.org/documents/2011%20NFHS%20Football%20Exam1.pdf)
You won't get in trouble but that local association may. The NFHS doesn't grant permission for their publications or exams to be posted online.
-
NC hasn't sent the Part I with our materials since 2006. The last Part II paper exam we took was in 2007. We've been online for exams since.
Since we are becoming more and more like the NCAA, I can forsee us soon having to print our own books too.
-
They have already either removed the content or made it password protected. My intentions were not to chuck them under the bus, but a quick google of it led me to them.
Have fun callin ball!
-
We got in trouble for posting it. As you can tell the NFHS made us take it down.
-
if a game official calls timeout for an injured player, the player MUST leave the game for at least one play. true or false we have different opinions on my crew
-
if a game official calls timeout for an injured player, the player MUST leave the game for at least one play. true or false we have different opinions on my crew
The statement, in and of itself, is true. For crew discussion, we can add "UNLESS player is injured on last play of a quarter - then he CAN return without sitting out a play."
-
that word must makes me think it is false. badly worded question in my opinion. thanks FlAg1
-
if a game official calls timeout for an injured player, the player MUST leave the game for at least one play. true or false we have different opinions on my crew
True. CB 3.5.10 Sit A.
Don't read anything extraneous into test questions.
-
The statement, in and of itself, is true. For crew discussion, we can add "UNLESS player is injured on last play of a quarter - then he CAN return without sitting out a play."
You may have meant to type, "half" instead of "quarter", but if a player is injured on the last play of the 1st or 3rd quarter, he must sit out the first play of the 2nd or 4th quarter. Rule 3-5-10
ART. 10 . . . An official’s time-out (which is not charged to either team) occurs, and the player shall be replaced for at least one down, unless halftime or an overtime intermission occurs
-
got my books last night,w/ No 2011 part 1 test--did anybody else get one? if so.can I get it faxed or something?
You will take the test in Illinois online, it will not be a true false test there are 50 questions in the pool you will get 25 of those on your test
-
if a game official calls timeout for an injured player, the player MUST leave the game for at least one play. true or false we have different opinions on my crew
- Stumped on the first question, eh?
- This is why I hate the people that write these questions. Logicians would cringe at the questions; English professors would cringe at the language in the rule book.
- We already know the two instances that an apparently injured player would not have to stay out for one play: halftime and the overtime intermission. If a game official has called a time-out because A1 appears injured, could he have possibly done so during halftime or the overtime intermission? I'd say that if the game official was able to stop the clock, then there must be time remaining for a play, meaning there's a play in which the injured player would be omitted. If time expired during a play where A1 appeared injured and we're at the end of the half or game, then the game official would not call a time out.
OK, now I got a question for you "A player loses possession by a fumble or a muff." My answer is TRUE. The NFHS's answer is FALSE.
-
OK, now I got a question for you "A player loses possession by a fumble or a muff." My answer is TRUE. The NFHS's answer is FALSE.
That's the type of question that causes problems. The answer based on logic is true. true or false=true
But that's not the way they are asking the question.
-
That's the type of question that causes problems. The answer based on logic is true. true or false=true
But that's not the way they are asking the question.
They could simply fix the question by changing the "or" to "and." I think certain rules and situations are confusing and challenging enough without the Fed's crazy wording and phrasing.
-
They could simply fix the question by changing the "or" to "and." I think certain rules and situations are confusing and challenging enough without the Fed's crazy wording and phrasing.
I agree, though at this point I have beaten into submission. :)
-
does anyone have part II handy?
-
OK, now I got a question for you "A player loses possession by a fumble or a muff." My answer is TRUE. The NFHS's answer is FALSE.
False. There never was player possession on a muff.
-
False. There never was player possession on a muff.
Sooo if I said, "I'm a human or a reptilian," I'd be lying?
-
Sooo if I said, "I'm a human or a reptilian," I'd be lying?
The English speaking creature was a human or a reptile.
False
-
OK, now I got a question for you "A player loses possession by a fumble or a muff." My answer is TRUE. The NFHS's answer is FALSE.
It is False. The ball remains in the possession of the player losing the ball until another gains possession.
2.34.3
A loose ball is different than team or player possession.
-
It is False. The ball remains in the possession of the player losing the ball until another gains possession.
2.34.3
A loose ball is different than team or player possession.
Correct answer, wrong reasoning. The ball remains in team possession during a loose ball, but player possession has been lost. Player possession may be lost by fumble, pass, or kick creating a loose ball. A muff is a failed attempt to gain possession of a loose ball, so you cannot lose possession of something you never had. That's what makes the question false.
-
It is False. The ball remains in the possession of the player losing the ball until another gains possession.
2.34.3
A loose ball is different than team or player possession.
Well, you not only missed his point, you have an erroneous reason. A player who fumbles or muffs the ball is NOT in player possession. A loose ball is always in TEAM possession, but by definition is not in player possession.
-
^no
Moving along... anybody got answers for these things (part I exam)?
-
^no
Moving along... anybody got answers for these things (part I exam)?
Yes. Many of us have answers. :)
-
Yes. Many of us have answers. :)
I have 100 answers, but according to the NFHS, one of them is wrong. yEs:
-
I have 100 answers, but according to the NFHS, one of them is wrong. yEs:
This might be a stupid question, but do they not tell you which one you missed?
-
If you take the online exam, they don't tell you which one you missed. But they do tell you what rules you need to study. From the two rules listed, I knew exactly which two I missed this year.
-
but do they not tell you which one you missed?
They will in a few weeks.
-
I have 100 answers, but according to the NFHS, one of them is wrong. yEs:
Which one would that be?
-
In Oklahoma we can now review our test. We can also see the correct answers for any we missed.