RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: KirbyB on August 16, 2011, 07:28:55 AM
-
I am a fairly new official. This is my fourth year.
K attempts an onside kick. During the kick, you have first touching by K at K48, then you have an illegal block by R. The ball rolls out of bounds after being touched by R at the 50. During the play you also have unintentional contact with an official in the restricted area by R.
What's the ruling?
My thinking is: First touching is ignored because of a foul by R. The illegal block is enforced from the previous spot (K40) and then the nonplayer foul is enforced from the succeeding spot. K would re-kick from R30.
-
illegal block would only be a 10 yd penalty not 15..that skewed your math but you are right
-
Zebrakin
Any illegal block in (except a BIB) in Federation rules is a 15 yard penalty. The kick has a previous spot enforcement, start at K's 40 add 15, now you are at R's 45. Now add the non-player foul 15 yard and you are re-kicking from R's 30 ydl.
-
any illegal blocking technique or a block in the back is 10 yards...clipping, blocking below the waist or a chop block is 15
-
I'd be careful about calling an illegal block while the ball is loose. I'm not saying it can't happen or that it shouldn't be called in certain circumstances, but I'd be careful.