RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: losthog on August 24, 2011, 10:31:16 PM
-
We had a good discussion on this one the other night. The center snapped the ball to the QB and fired off to block. The only thing though is the QB never received possession of the ball and the center was blocking with one hand and had the ball pinned to his leg with the other hand. Every thing else about the play was normal. The QB then went back to retrieve the ball from the center's leg. The QB and ball were tackled with the QB in possession of the ball. What is the call? ^talk
-
Since the ball did not touch a back, or the ground before touching a lineman (i.e. himself), therefore, I've got an illegal snap. I could be wrong though.
-
2.40.2 - ... In a snap, the movement must be a quick and continuous
backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s)
of the snapper
It didn't immediately leave the snapper's hand so it is an illegal snap.
-
+1 Illegal snap: dead ball foul, 5 yards from previous spot.
-
And shut it down fast, or someone is going to get killed on a play like this.
-
Yep, probably me, the umpire. ;D