RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: KPKLR on August 28, 2011, 10:24:27 PM

Title: Fourth down fumble
Post by: KPKLR on August 28, 2011, 10:24:27 PM
Following up on a question first posted five years ago ... reference is NFHS 7-4-4.
Fourth and 10 for A at B20. A1 carries to B13, where he fumbles and ball goes out of bounds at B8 with neither team gaining possession.

Since A didn't advance ball beyond line to gain under its own power, is it 1st and 10 for B at B8, or 1st and goal for A at B8? I'm leading toward 1st and 10 for B, given explanation that ball belongs to team that fumbles unless it's out of bounds between the goal lines after fourth down.

The ball advanced but I'm not seeing that as an option here.
Title: Re: Fourth down fumble
Post by: HLinNC on August 29, 2011, 05:01:57 AM
I think you mean 7-3-4.  Particularly 7-3-4a:

 "ART. 3 . . . The ball belongs to the passing or fumbling team unless lost after
fourth down if a fumble or a backward pass:
a. Goes out of bounds between the goal lines;"

 There is no fourth down fumble rule in NF rules.   See 2-15-1 under definition of forward progress.  Also see Fundamentals  Section I-1,2,3 regarding possession.

"Unless lost after fourth down" means when the down has ended.  The down did not end until the ball was OOB.  Advancing the ball under its own power is not a Federation concept.  Its First and goal A from the b8 yl in your scenario.
Title: Re: Fourth down fumble
Post by: ret66482 on August 29, 2011, 08:04:52 AM
Agree with HLinNC except that the reference is 7-4-3a
Title: Re: Fourth down fumble
Post by: john3459 on August 29, 2011, 04:26:50 PM
Hopefully fed rules will change to match NCAA on this very soon. Way to big of an advantage for A. 
Title: Re: Fourth down fumble
Post by: HLinNC on August 29, 2011, 06:13:53 PM
Yup, transposed my 3 and my 4.
Title: Re: Fourth down fumble
Post by: mbyron on August 29, 2011, 07:21:29 PM
Hopefully fed rules will change to match NCAA on this very soon. Way to big of an advantage for A.

I've never seen this play. I don't regard it as a "big advantage." There is also a case play where the official judges that a player intentionally threw the ball forward and out of bounds in order to reach the line to gain. In that case, it's an illegal forward pass. :)