RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: JasonTX on September 01, 2011, 11:37:32 PM

Title: Fed Ruling on Fwd Fumble
Post by: JasonTX on September 01, 2011, 11:37:32 PM
Need some help on a Fed ruling down here in NCAA land in Texas.  I was working a game with a team from Oklahoma playing here in Texas under NCAA rules.  I assumed this was a Fed rule as the coach didn't understand.  Here is the play:

1st and 10 from the 50 . Team A throws a pass and it is caught and the runner runs to the B-5 yardline where he fumbles the ball and it rolls into the end zone where a teammate recovers it.  In NCAA this is a Touchdown.  Is this any different in Fed?
Title: Re: Fed Ruling on Fwd Fumble
Post by: bama_stripes on September 02, 2011, 07:16:29 AM
No difference.

Under FED rules, any player may advance or recover a fumble at any time.
Title: Re: Fed Ruling on Fwd Fumble
Post by: Chaplin on September 04, 2011, 11:34:47 AM
Touchdown!!!  ^good NFHS does not not have a 4th down fumble rule or any other type of special fumble rule. Anybody can recover any fumble.

As far as the coach not understanding it; oh well.. LOL
Title: Re: Fed Ruling on Fwd Fumble
Post by: LAZebra on September 05, 2011, 11:52:32 AM
The coach was most likely trying to apply an NCAA rule he did not fully understand, which is something coaches do often.