RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: New Back on September 06, 2011, 12:09:12 PM

Title: A little help please
Post by: New Back on September 06, 2011, 12:09:12 PM
Situation: 4th down scrimmage kick goes about 10 -15 yards in the air and when it hits the ground it comes back behind the original LOS.  The kicker then picks it up and throws a pass to a recievers who catches it for a first down.  1. Is this a legal pass? 2. What if any penalty would/could you have and what would be the result? 3. Whose ball would it be?  This happened in a lower level game.

Thanks,
hEaDbAnG
Title: Re: A little help please
Post by: Atlanta Blue on September 06, 2011, 12:21:28 PM
Situation: 4th down scrimmage kick goes about 10 -15 yards in the air and when it hits the ground it comes back behind the original LOS.  The kicker then picks it up and throws a pass to a recievers who catches it for a first down.  1. Is this a legal pass? 2. What if any penalty would/could you have and what would be the result? 3. Whose ball would it be?  This happened in a lower level game.

Thanks,
hEaDbAnG

If the kicking team recovers a punt behind the LOS, they are free to do with it anything they could have done before the first kick.  They may run it, pass it, or kick it again.

So in your case, no fouls, 1st and 10 for K.
Title: Re: A little help please
Post by: ECILLJ on September 06, 2011, 01:15:01 PM
agree
Title: Re: A little help please
Post by: mark in ok on September 06, 2011, 02:01:58 PM
There were probably ineligibles down field.
Title: Re: A little help please
Post by: New Back on September 06, 2011, 02:21:31 PM
I agree with all of you.  And to go a step furtherif there were ineligibles down filed and a flag thrown, then "B" would most likely take the penalty resulting in replaying the down.
Title: Re: A little help please
Post by: Wingman on September 06, 2011, 08:23:02 PM
I agree with all of you.  And to go a step furtherif there were ineligibles down filed and a flag thrown, then "B" would most likely take the penalty resulting in replaying the down.

Even a snake-oil salesman would guarantee there have been ineligibles down field during the play.  The basic rule implies this, the casebook reinforces it..  A linemen cannot  move down-field and make a return to a spot in/behind the NZ if during the play a forward pass is thrown beyond the NZ.. He has now committed a foul for ineligible downfield.