RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: losthog on September 07, 2011, 10:02:58 AM

Title: A dandy senerio....
Post by: losthog on September 07, 2011, 10:02:58 AM
Team A has the ball on their 27, 2nd and 6.  On a play action pass, team A is flagged for holding at the 26.  Team B is flagged for roughing the passer.  The ball is intercepted by team B and returned to the 50 yd line where the player is forced out of bounds.  After the whistle, team A player hits team B player out of bounds and is flagged.  The line judge spots the ending spot at the 50 yard line indicating the play ended at the 50.  What is the call from the white hat, and where is the ball placement, in whose possession?

Help with this one please.  Add references to decisions please.
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: InsideTheStripes on September 07, 2011, 10:40:37 AM
Since the live ball fouls on both teams are prior to the possession change, the down will be replayed (10-2-1 (b)).  The basic spot for the enforcement of the dead ball foul is the succeeding spot which would be the 27 yard line (10-4-5 (b)).  Since we are inside the 30, penalize half the distance (10-1-5).

I believe it would be team A with the ball on their own 13.5, 2 and 19.5.

Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: bama_stripes on September 07, 2011, 10:59:27 AM
Agree.
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: Atlanta Blue on September 07, 2011, 11:00:59 AM
Exactly right, but since statiticians don't deal in half yards, the ball is on the 14, 2nd and 19. ;)
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: SanDiegoStryker on September 07, 2011, 12:47:51 PM
Wait. B can decline the holding penalty and retain possession of the ball. Right?
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: mark in ok on September 07, 2011, 01:02:29 PM
If B could decline the holding, we would be left with roughing the passer.
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: mbyron on September 07, 2011, 01:49:19 PM
Wait. B can decline the holding penalty and retain possession of the ball. Right?
They can always decline it, but in this case they would not keep possession by doing so because the hold occurred prior to the COP.
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: jg-me on September 07, 2011, 02:55:54 PM
Because the live ball fouls offset by rule, there is nothing to accept or decline except the penalty for the DB foul.
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: InsideTheStripes on September 07, 2011, 03:09:45 PM
Because the live ball fouls offset by rule, there is nothing to accept or decline except the penalty for the DB foul.

In FED they "cancel" rather than offset, but the result is the same.   :)
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: SanDiegoStryker on September 07, 2011, 03:14:47 PM
Ok, yeah, I confused myself there. If B commits a foul before a change of possession it means they did not get the ball with clean hands so they are not going to be able to keep the ball.
Title: Re: A dandy senerio....
Post by: losthog on September 07, 2011, 05:53:23 PM
Guys thank you for clearing this up for me.  What it proves to me is that my white hat is as good as advertised.  You guys and he came up with the same answer.