Author Topic: Contact against an eligible receiver  (Read 454 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ted T

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Contact against an eligible receiver
« on: September 16, 2025, 11:31:32 PM »
It appears there may have been some discussion similar to this about 10 years ago, but let's try again.
In consideration of Rule 9-2-3-d, which states: A defensive player shall not contact an eligible receiver who is no longer a potential blocker. 
A88 is split wide and heads straight downfield as the QB takes a shotgun snap and immediately looks to pass. 10 yards downfield from the LOS, B22 moves laterally to cut off A88's path and makes contact (not of a significant nature) which slows the receiver and forces him wide and off his intended route.
Under NFHS rules, is this a foul?

Offline ilyazhito

  • *
  • Posts: 444
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-22
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2025, 06:24:35 AM »
Based on the description, this could be a foul if the ball is thrown to A88. It is rather unlikely that A88 is a potential blocker because he is downfield, his route is straight downfield rather than directly at someone, and the contact is enough to affect his ability to run his route.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2025, 07:23:00 AM »
Agree.  Once A88 reaches the same yard line as the defender, he’s no longer a potential blocker.

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-20
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2025, 10:31:18 AM »
"Cutoff" is one of the DPI categories.  Sounds like this is what you're describing so yes, it's a foul.

Offline lawdog

  • *
  • Posts: 248
  • FAN REACTION: +6/-25
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2025, 10:54:44 AM »
Based on the description, this could be a foul if the ball is thrown to A88. It is rather unlikely that A88 is a potential blocker because he is downfield, his route is straight downfield rather than directly at someone, and the contact is enough to affect his ability to run his route.

Illegal contact doesn't require the ball to be thrown to him.  You can't just knock a receiver down so the QB can't throw to him and its OK.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2259
  • FAN REACTION: +306/-27
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2025, 12:08:17 PM »
I think this rule was to prevent the LB from blasting the 5 yard TE crosser route over the middle for no reason when the player is looking back at the QB.

Offline refjeff

  • *
  • Posts: 589
  • FAN REACTION: +22/-31
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2025, 06:34:04 PM »
If A is a potential blocker it is not a foul.  Once they are on the same yard line or it A is clearly past, or trying to run past, B it is a foul.  If it is before the pass is released or the pass is thrown somewhere else it is illegal use of the hands,

That's the way I explain it to coaches.

Offline ilyazhito

  • *
  • Posts: 444
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-22
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2025, 08:53:21 PM »
Illegal contact doesn't require the ball to be thrown to him.  You can't just knock a receiver down so the QB can't throw to him and its OK.

I was thinking more about DPI but yes, you do have a point.

Offline Ted T

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Contact against an eligible receiver
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2025, 03:23:37 PM »
Thanks, guys.  It was prior to the pass, so not DPI.  Our BJ (5 man crew) had a hold, but it got me to thinking because, for reasons unbeknownst to me, this was never really emphasized in our area unless it was significant contact.
Good judgment to all this weekend!