I honestly think S-B have somebody else authoring their quizzes for them. These are so very out of character for S-B. Not bad or wrong, just way different than we've seen in recent years.
-------------------------------
1. Try @ B-3. During the second possession series of the 3rd extra period, the score is tied 21-21 and Team A lines up for their 2-point try. A12’s screen pass is intercepted by B21 at the B-2, and B21 runs across the field, cuts back into his own endzone to avoid tacklers (no momentum) and is tackled with the nose of the football in the field of play and the back nose of the ball in the end zone.
RULING:
Game over; Team A wins 22 to 21.
With impetus from Team B (by B21 carrying the ball into he is own end zone), the natural result of the down is a safety, 1 point for Team A. (If any part of the ball is on, above, or across a goal line when it becomes dead, the ball is dead IN the end zone.)
2. Try @ B-3. During the second possession series of the 3rd extra period, the score is tied 21-21 and Team A lines up for their 2-point try. A12’s screen pass is intercepted by B21 at the B-2, and B21 runs across the field, cuts back into his own endzone to avoid tacklers (no momentum). B21 then escapes and runs the length of the field for a Touchdown.
RULING:
Game over; Team B wins 23 to 21.
The natural result of the down is a touchdown for Team B. On a try, a touchdown has a value of 2-points for the scoring team.
3. 1/10 @ B-25. During the first possession series of the first extra period, QB A12 throws downfield, and the ball is intercepted by B21 at the B-5. B21 returns out to the B-30 and fumbles, and A55 scoops up the ball at the B-25 and rumbles to the B-20 where he is downed.
RULING:
B, 1/10, defensive 25, no game clock (25).
With the interception, Team A’s possession series ends, and Team B will next put the ball in play for the second possession series of the extra period.
4. 4/Goal @ B-2. Team A comes to the line and QB A12 calls timeout. Team A huddles near the sideline and in front of their team area. The head coach for Team A brings one of the 18 authorized tablets for in-game video and reviews plays with Team A players on the field in front of their team area.
RULING:
4/G, B-2, snap (25).
The action by team A is legal.
5. Free Kick @ A-35. Late in the game with the score tied, Team A lines up to free kick. Kicker A91 places the ball down at the right hash for an apparent onside kick. After the Referee’s ready-for-play signal, A91 approaches the ball and then picks up the ball runs to the left hash at the A-35, places the ball down and quickly kicks the ball. The ball goes 10-yards and is recovered by A21.
RULING:
A, free kick, A-30, free kick timing (25).
A91 commits a foul for an illegal kick, which is a foul that causes the ball to remain dead, and the 5-yard penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot, where the free kick down will continue.
6. Free Kick @ A-35. Team A is offside and A91’s kick goes out of bounds at the B-15 after it has been touched by B80 at the B-20.
RULING:
A, free kick, A-30, free kick timing (25), OR B, 1/10, B-20, snap (25).
Because B80 legally touched the ball in the field of play, the natural result of the down is B’s ball at the spot where the ball crossed the sideline (B-15). Team B may have the 5-yard penalty for the offside foul enforced at the previous spot and the kickoff repeated, or they may have the penalty enforced at the dead-ball spot.
7. Free Kick @ A-35. The kickoff is high and deep, and deep receiver B21 gives a fair catch signal as the kick is in flight. B44 catches the kick right in front of B21 at the 8-yard line. The LJ shuts the play down just after B44’s catch.
RULING:
B, 1/10, B-8, snap (40 and running).
There is no foul. The ball is dead, and the action is properly stopped by the LJ, when caught, and belongs to Team B at that spot, for a Team B scrimmage series.
8. Free Kick @ A-35. A91’s free kick bounces and breaks the plane of the A-45. While the ball is in the air beyond the A-45, A21, who is standing at the A-44, touches the ball, and A80 recovers the ball at the A-46.
RULING:
A, 1/10, A-46, snap (40 and running).
The touching of the ball by A21 is legal since the ball had reached Team B’s restraining line. The subsequent recovery is also legal, and the dead-ball belongs to Team B for a scrimmage series. Note that the play clock for the subsequent scrimmage series should start automatically when the ball becomes dead.