Author Topic: OPI by an Ineligible receiver  (Read 378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline John B

  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« on: October 02, 2025, 09:01:50 PM »
 ^flagOPI - Rule 7.3.8.b.1 states After the snap (and one assumes before the pass has been touched) it is NOT OPi, if an originally ineligible receiver (ie Offensive lineman or covered eligible numbered player) immediately charges and contacts (initiates ) contact (a block) NOT more than one yard beyond NZ and maintains the contact for no more than 3 yds beyond the NZ. So does that mean if an originally ineligible receiver, 1st initiates a block MORE than 1 yd beyond NZ , before the pass is made, this is an OPI? I have only seen ineligible downfield called for player beyond 3 yds. What about where a lineman either comes of a double team and then initiates contact on a defender at the 2 yds or more beyond the NZ? Never seen this called, but happens regularly on RPO type plays.

Offline dammitbobby

  • *
  • Posts: 1542
  • FAN REACTION: +35/-11
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
Re: OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2025, 09:47:44 PM »
^flagOPI - Rule 7.3.8.b.1 states After the snap (and one assumes before the pass has been touched) it is NOT OPi, if an originally ineligible receiver (ie Offensive lineman or covered eligible numbered player) immediately charges and contacts (initiates ) contact (a block) NOT more than one yard beyond NZ and maintains the contact for no more than 3 yds beyond the NZ. So does that mean if an originally ineligible receiver, 1st initiates a block MORE than 1 yd beyond NZ , before the pass is made, this is an OPI? I have only seen ineligible downfield called for player beyond 3 yds. What about where a lineman either comes of a double team and then initiates contact on a defender at the 2 yds or more beyond the NZ? Never seen this called, but happens regularly on RPO type plays.

That is correct - no restriction in that regard as to who can/cannot commit OPI - the one thing I would clarify in your statement, is that it is not a foul until a legal forward pass is thrown that crosses the NZ. If it's not past the NZ, or forward, you cannot have OPI by anyone, it is simply a block that happened to be downfield that occurred during a running play segment.

'What about where a lineman either comes of a double team and then initiates contact on a defender at the 2 yds or more beyond the NZ? Never seen this called, but happens regularly on RPO type plays.'

Me personally, I'd have to see this, because it would depend on if the ball has been thrown at that point, and where the blocker/defenders are in relation to the pass. In theory it could be OPI but I'd think that on a screen/RPO by the time the lineman gets to that second level, the ball is already in the air away from the lineman and that second-level block likely is inconsequential.

I'm sure better officials than me will correct me if Im wrong, but that's my .02


Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • FAN REACTION: +184/-156
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2025, 10:09:46 PM »
Yeah, it is totally possible that an originally ineligible player could establish contact with an opponent within 1 yard of the NZ, and drive him to 3 yards beyond the NZ and let him go; no foul. But, if he keeps driving the opponent beyond 3 yards, or initiates contact more than 1-yard beyond the NZ, and the pass crosses the NZ, then, yes, either of those scenarios is OPI. Might get an ineligible downfield call before OPI, if the pass is nowhere in the area where the pass comes down.

Offline John B

  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2025, 01:48:21 AM »
I recall a Redding training video in about 2016, identifying this type of contact downfield before the pass as giving an indication to the defence, that the play was a run, by the blocking downfield. Just like a downfield contact by an eligible receiver before the pass became OPI, when a legal forward pass beyond the NZ was thrown. Just wondering who has the mechanics responsibility for this type of action - Umpire?

Offline dammitbobby

  • *
  • Posts: 1542
  • FAN REACTION: +35/-11
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
Re: OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2025, 06:32:32 AM »
Umpire, since it his direct keys (GCG), and the far side wing, who has responsibility for watching the belt for IDP.

In this clip, I miss exactly what OP is referencing. (I'm wing at top). https://www.hudl.com/profile/13724850/Michael-Cole

Coach on my side wanted IDP, I felt that their blocking was initiated legally, and that where they wound up was a direct result of the blocking (driving them back), and really should have been IDP that turned into OPI. Was definitely a learning opportunity for me.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2259
  • FAN REACTION: +306/-27
Re: OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2025, 08:38:43 AM »
The rule is meant to permit normal line play.
You don't want to call OPI on the center for driving the nose guard 3 yards down field.  That's what the rule was meant to prevent.
Now, if you have a lineman release and block a LB at 3 yards, then you can potentially have OPI if the pass crosses the NZ and it's in the area of the pass.

Offline dammitbobby

  • *
  • Posts: 1542
  • FAN REACTION: +35/-11
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
Re: OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2025, 10:11:50 AM »
Would IDP still be on the table in this situation?

Honestly OPI was not even on my radar for this, but had the receiver or completed pass been a lot closer to the middle, I can see where it might be supported more, especially if the defender was close enough to make a play on the ball or receiver.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2259
  • FAN REACTION: +306/-27
Re: OPI by an Ineligible receiver
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2025, 10:45:13 PM »
Would IDP still be on the table in this situation?

No, everything is at or behind 3 yards.