Not too tricky. But good things to think about.
----------------------------------------------------
1. 3/2 @ B-45. With the clock running, Team A is in formation, and the snap is imminent. QB A12 is in shotgun formation and is working to change the play. The Team B defensive coordinator in his team area claps causing the Team A wideout to false start just before the snap.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-40, ready (25).
The DC commits a pre-snap dead-ball delay of game foul for disconcerting signals. The 5-yard penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot, moving the ball beyond the line-to-gain, yielding a new scrimmage series for Team A.
2. 4/9 @ A-6. Team A trails by 1 point and it is late in the 4th quarter. QB A12 drops straight back, is under heavy duress and intentionally grounds a forward pass from his end zone that lands at the A-10 with no receiver in the area. When the play ends, the clock reads 2:00.
RULING:
A, free kick, A-20, free kick timing (25); OR, B, 1/G, A-6, snap (25).
A12 commits a foul for intentional grounding. The penalty for this illegal pass from the end zone is a safety, 2-points for Team B, with a free kick to follow from the A-20. Alternatively, at team B’s option, Team B can decline the penalty, and the ball is placed at the previous for the next down. In this case, Team B would be awarded a scrimmage series at the previous spot.
Because this foul occurred before the 2-minute time-out, there is no option for a 10-second time out, or any other adjustment to game timing.
3. 3/5 @ B-20. A12 throws a legal forward pass to A80 at the B-22. A80 has position on B21 and is about to touch the pass when B21 pushes A80 in the back above the waist to get to the ball and the pass falls incomplete.
RULING:
A, 4/5, B-20, snap (40 and running).
All legal action. In an effort to reach/touch a pass behind the neutral zone, “pushing” an opponent at/above the waist is legal by eligible players of either team.
4. 4/8 @ B-40. A91’s untouched field goal attempt rolls dead at the B-7 with no one near the ball.
RULING:
B, 1/10, B-40, snap (25).
When a field goal attempt from regular scrimmage is unsuccessful and the ball becomes dead beyond the neutral zone, untouched by Team B, the ball is placed at the previous spot, and Team B is awarded a scrimmage series.
5. 3/Goal @ B-10. Ball carrier A22 heads for the right-hand pylon at the goal line. The ball in his right hand crosses the sideline at the 1⁄2 yard line and then breaks the plane of the extension of the goal line outside (i.e., to the right of) the pylon. A22 then steps on the goal line and falls out of bounds.
RULING:
A, try, B-3, no game clock (40 and running).
When a ball carrier touches a goal line pylon, goal line, or the ground inbounds beyond the goal line, the plane of the goal line is extended beyond the sideline (to infinity). When the ball is penetrating the goal line extended before the ball carrier touches the pylon or is otherwise out of bounds, a touchdown is scored. Team A will next put the ball in play for a try from the B-3.
6. 3/Goal @ B-10. Ball carrier A22 heads for the right-hand pylon at the goal line. The ball in his right hand crosses the sideline at the 1⁄2 yard line and then breaks the plane of the extension of the goal line outside (i.e., to the right of) the pylon, and then A22 steps on the sideline 1 inch short of the goal line.
RULING:
A, 4/G, B-1/2, ready/snap (40 and running).
When a ball carrier touches a sideline between the goal lines, the ball is dead at the point where it is in the field of play, or where it crossed the sideline before it became dead.
7. 3/5 @ B-40. Early in the 4th quarter with the clock running, Snapper A51 lifts the ball before passing it backward, B52 bats the ball away, and B53 recovers the ball at the B-39.
RULING:
A, 3/10, B-45, ready (25).
A51 commits a pre-snap dead-ball foul for an illegal snap when he lifted the ball from the ground before beginning a backward movement of the ball for a snap. Because A51’s foul preceded B52’s action, B52’s action is ignored.
8. 3/5 @ B-40. Early in the 4th quarter with the clock running, Snapper A51 legally begins the snap, but B52 bats the ball before A51 completes the snap, and B53 recovers the ball at the B-39.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-35, ready (25).
B52 commits a pre-snap dead-ball foul for offside, for interfering with the snap. The 5-yard penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot, moving the ball to/beyond the line-to-gain, yielding a new scrimmage series for Team A.