Author Topic: Pass Interference - Can OPI and DPI be called on the same play?  (Read 253 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline friedmonkey

  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Pass Interference - Can OPI and DPI be called on the same play?
« on: October 16, 2025, 11:22:03 AM »
Is there a scenario where OPI and DPI can be called on the A and B in the same play? Are there good examples of this in the past? I have only found one example, 2012 TCU vs WVU, where the pass was incomplete anyways, so it was a replay of a down and the outcome was relatively benign (1st down, halfway through the 3rd quarter). I'm not sure that I agree with the call, I would likely have kept the the flags away. In that 2012 example, the flags also came from separate judges.

What would the requirements be for such a situation? I would think that any situation where B interferes with A while the pass is in the air, followed by A interfering with B, would be 1) PI on B for initiating the interference or 2) no flags on account of mutual combat. The other implication is that if A catches the ball but it's a replay of down for offsetting penalties, there is a clear advantage given to B.

Would love to gather thoughts on this.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • FAN REACTION: +184/-156
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Pass Interference - Can OPI and DPI be called on the same play?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2025, 12:00:35 PM »
The easiest one would be if A88 pushed off and created separation from B33 some distance beyond the NZ, but, by the time the pass was released, B33 was able to recover and grab A88’s arm and keep him from reaching for the pass. Just because A88 may have committed OPI on B33, that does not give B33 license to foul A88.

Offline friedmonkey

  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Pass Interference - Can OPI and DPI be called on the same play?
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2025, 12:46:59 PM »
The easiest one would be if A88 pushed off and created separation from B33 some distance beyond the NZ, but, by the time the pass was released, B33 was able to recover and grab A88’s arm and keep him from reaching for the pass. Just because A88 may have committed OPI on B33, that does not give B33 license to foul A88.

Yes, this I can envision although no examples come to mind. Two distinct examples of PI occuring at separate points in the play marked by separation that had only been created by A88 in the first place.


Does it make sense that it could ever be simultaneous/immediate succession? What is the call if B33 is restricting A88 from playing the arriving ball (with A88 looking for the ball, B33 does not have his head around) and then A88 uses his arms/chicken wing to free himself from B33?
« Last Edit: October 16, 2025, 12:51:18 PM by friedmonkey »

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • FAN REACTION: +184/-156
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Pass Interference - Can OPI and DPI be called on the same play?
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2025, 03:18:46 PM »
Yes, this I can envision although no examples come to mind. Two distinct examples of PI occuring at separate points in the play marked by separation that had only been created by A88 in the first place.


Does it make sense that it could ever be simultaneous/immediate succession? What is the call if B33 is restricting A88 from playing the arriving ball (with A88 looking for the ball, B33 does not have his head around) and then A88 uses his arms/chicken wing to free himself from B33?

Officially, yes, it is possible to have both players foul each other simultaneously. FBS officials are directed to try to find the one that is most obvious. For simple hand-fighting, we pass. For a real grasp/restrict by one, with a modest hook and turn by the other, I might go with the grasp/restrict.

Offline DallasLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 565
  • FAN REACTION: +16/-15
Re: Pass Interference - Can OPI and DPI be called on the same play?
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2025, 03:36:16 PM »
I, in fact, had this happen in a 6A game about 15 years ago.  Ball was snapped around the 10 yard line going in.  Receiver ran 10-12 yards to GL, then pushed off has he cut towards the pylon.  I, as LJ has OPI.  After he cut, Defender reached out and pulled jersey of Receiver to keep him from getting away.  BJ had flag for DPI. 

  I could not see the Defender jersey pull because it was on the back side, and BJ did not see the OPI push off because it was on the inside push.  We got together, discussed our respective call, and explained to our Referee that was had offsetting PI fouls.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • FAN REACTION: +184/-156
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Pass Interference - Can OPI and DPI be called on the same play?
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2025, 04:13:45 PM »
Yeah, two distinct, separate acts - those are offsetting. Good work coordinating with each other.