Author Topic: Calling all LJs!  (Read 5953 times)

Offline refjimb

• JimBLJ
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Calling all LJs!
« on: August 11, 2014, 01:41:17 PM »
Hi All,

First post here.  Been an official for a few years now, but this is my first year on a full-time Varsity crew, and I'll be an LJ all year which means I finally get to focus on one position.

I wanted to see if there were any experienced Line Judges that have any advice as to what was challenging for them at first in that position, and any tips in general?  Any rules or mechanics that are confusing or worthwhile to focus on (besides all of them).  Tips on working with coaches?

Everything is helpful, thanks in advance!

Jim D.

Re: Calling all LJs!
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 02:47:59 PM »
I always introduce myself to the coach before the game and ask him to come to me with any questions or problems.  Then midway through the first quarter during a stoppage (if the situation allows it -don't go up to a coach just after you flagged his team or they gave up a big play) and I'll ask the coach if everything is OK or are there any issues.   That seems to help a lot. 

If the coach is an BUTT, I'll still introduce myself, but I won't follow up later.

You need to learn how to read the coaches - is the guy approachable?, Can you talk with him?  Can you very lightly kid with him, or is he all business?  Can you help him, or will he chew your head off if you mention anything. 

Each coach is different so treat them all differently.  Be approachable, but let them dictate the level of the relationship.  I'd rather the coach deal with me than trying to yell into the R all the time.

Offline VALJ

• FAN REACTION: +90/-14
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2014, 03:51:11 PM »