Author Topic: Holder question  (Read 524 times)

Offline SCHSref

• FAN REACTION: +15/-10
  • In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king
Holder question
« on: March 19, 2024, 09:42:14 AM »
We seemed to have a spirited discussion on what is a holder and how this affords him protection in a scrimmage kick formation.

One voice said his knee was to be on the ground

The other voice said he didn't have to have his knee on the ground.

It was about roughing the holder and if he didn't have his knee on the ground, did this afford him protection.

Thoughts?
If you didn't see it, you can't call it

Offline d0d0joe

• FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Re: Holder question
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2024, 10:10:54 AM »
I'm not a rules expert, but with a question like this I would look at definitions. 2-32-7 defines a holder and I don't see anything in that definition about his knee.

Offline SCHSref

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2024, 10:34:24 AM »
2-14-2a

Offline dch

• FAN REACTION: +9/-1
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2024, 10:44:23 AM »
Good thought to go to Rule 2. 
Sure enough a holder doesn't have to have his knee on the ground per 2-32.7. 
But --- a scrimmage kick formation (2-14 art 2.a) requires knee on the ground,7 yards deep and in position to be the holder.

Now what are we to do?  Better look at Rule 9.  Then the Case Book.
Can you have Roughing (or Running Into) the Kicker or Holder if they weren't in a legal scrimmage kick formation?  When do they become a kicker or holder?  When does protection begin?

Offline CalhounLJ

• FAN REACTION: +134/-1004
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2024, 05:50:36 PM »
Good thought to go to Rule 2. 
Sure enough a holder doesn't have to have his knee on the ground per 2-32.7. 
But --- a scrimmage kick formation (2-14 art 2.a) requires knee on the ground,7 yards deep and in position to be the holder.

Now what are we to do?  Better look at Rule 9.  Then the Case Book.