Author Topic: Considering a relocation to Texas  (Read 6216 times)

Offline shaker55

• FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Considering a relocation to Texas
« on: May 30, 2012, 09:41:36 AM »
I've been working varsity HS football in Massachusetts for the past 8 years and have been working DIII College for the past 2. My day job is relocating to Westlake,Texas in 2013 and I am considering a move. Officiating is such a huge part of my life and happiness so I wanted to reach out to members of this board and ask for any direction about getting information about what local association would be appropriate for me to inquire with based on my geography. Any information/feedback is appreciated.

Thanks,
Rob

Offline Coby

• FAN REACTION: +24/-72
Re: Considering a relocation to Texas
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 09:55:51 AM »
Here is the deal about Texas:

Texas is the hardest place to work D2/D3/NAIA football in the country (Houston Specifically is the hardest).  There are just not that many D2/D3? NAIA schools within the state.  The high school football is played at the highest level but there are not a lot of college opportunities and the competition for those opportunities is INTENSE.  I will let someone from Dallas talk about the politics involved in getting on a crew in Dallas.  In Houston it is near impossible if you do not know someone with a spot open on an existing crew.  It takes most officials 8 years to get a spot on a crappy varsity crew in Houston (and I hear it is the same in Dallas).

Welcome to Texas

Offline TampaSteve

• Administrator
  • FAN REACTION: +23/-13
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 10:29:36 AM »
Coby:
All due respect, I believe FL has fewer NCAA/NAIA/JuCo oppertunities than TX.
Unless I'm mistaken, except for 2 NAIA schools, the rest are BCS or FCS division schools here in FL.

Offline Coby

• FAN REACTION: +24/-72
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2012, 12:51:07 PM »
Checking my good ole wikipedia..... You are correct

27 to 3