Author Topic: What's your standard equipment on the field?  (Read 13310 times)

Offline OkieZebra

• FAN REACTION: +3/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
What's your standard equipment on the field?
« on: August 11, 2013, 11:42:48 PM »
I'm not brand new, but I feel like it sometimes, and I'm just looking to see what other people do gear wise on the football field. I have what amounts to two years of experience with NFHS, and some more doing intramurals in college before that, which helped and hurt in a few ways (for example, we all carried two flags at our belts when possible, just because players were hotheaded enough that it came in handy - but that definitely seems to not be the done thing at other levels).

My current loadout is generally:  beanbag at left hip, flag at right hip, spare flag in back right pocket, golf pencil in back left pocket, whistle on lanyard at neck (generally on the one that clips to the zipper), second whistle inside the shirt, book with game card and pencil in left pocket (used to be in the breast pocket, but I kept losing my pencils), car key and 3rd whistle in right pocket (I'm probably just paranoid, but I've lost one whistle before and been thankful for the backup, and I'd hate to lose both and be silent, or for a crew member to be silent for some reason), down indicator on right wrist, possible second one on left wrist if umpiring.

I'd love advice from any and all positions. What do you carry, and where do you keep it? Any suggestions for a good watch for on the field? I'm in the market for one. (Also, why are there so dang many bean bag colors out there?)

Offline NorCalMike

• FAN REACTION: +23/-8
Re: What's your standard equipment on the field?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2013, 01:24:57 AM »
Mostly umpire.
I carry my flag on my left side (left handed). Bean bag on right. Game card with cover in my shirt pocket. I stopped using pencils and switch to these small pens you can get at Staples. Cleat gauge in my shirt pocket.