Author Topic: Looking forward to the new season  (Read 1791 times)

Offline Official_21

• FAN REACTION: +9/-0
  • What on earth have I gotten myself into???
Looking forward to the new season
« on: February 25, 2022, 09:52:02 AM »
I can't believe I have been a clock operator for four years now.

I have learned a lot about how to be a good clock operator in those four years. Mainly from my fellow officials here on these forums.

Everyone who is outside our officiating circle (mainly my friends) think that all we do as clock operators is sit up in an air conditioned booth and watch the game.
I can tell you that after four years of being a clock operator, that ignorant statement is further from the truth (Yeah yeah I know I am captain obvious  ;D)

I have heard horror stories of the chaos that a bad clock operator can cause during a game of football on these forums, but with that being said, I am glad all the crew chiefs and fellow officials that I have worked for have always praised my work.
I strive to always do a good job. But it is not about me, it is about me doing a good job for the players, coaches and my fellow officials on the field.

With all that being said, I am looking forward to the 2022-23 season and maybe working for some new crews as well as crews that I have worked with last season  tiphat:

Offline dammitbobby

• FAN REACTION: +27/-8
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
Re: Looking forward to the new season
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2022, 09:58:41 AM »
I worked a few games as clock operator this past season and can confirm, it's not near as easy as people make it out to be!  (Especially with old, crusty, counter-intuitive equipment that isn't labeled very well!)

Offline Official_21

• FAN REACTION: +9/-0
  • What on earth have I gotten myself into???
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2022, 10:31:40 AM »