Author Topic: Umpire, missing fouls?  (Read 892 times)

Offline Homerdodd1

• FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Umpire, missing fouls?
« on: October 08, 2023, 10:15:13 AM »
I am a 5th year official and prefer working flanks. However, I recently started working umpire. I understand the basic mechanics/positioning etc, but somehow I feel I may be missing too many holds/fouls. Any tips or suggestions to help me catch the holds after the snaps? Should my post-snap  focus be homed in on a specific player or just give each one a quik glance ? I want to improve my game. Thanks.

Offline HLinNC

• FAN REACTION: +133/-24
Re: Umpire, missing fouls?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2023, 12:46:44 PM »
Not am umpire by trade, I moved from H to R.  I believe the umpire is supposed to focus on G-C-G post-snap so are you doing that?

Offline Etref

• Administrator
  • FAN REACTION: +85/-28
  • " I don't make the rules coach!"
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2023, 06:03:34 PM »
I am a 5th year official and prefer working flanks. However, I recently started working umpire. I understand the basic mechanics/positioning etc, but somehow I feel I may be missing too many holds/fouls. Any tips or suggestions to help me catch the holds after the snaps? Should my post-snap  focus be homed in on a specific player or just give each one a quik glance ? I want to improve my game. Thanks.

If it s not that obvious, is it a hold?
" I don't make the rules coach!"

Offline JasonTX

• FAN REACTION: +112/-58
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2023, 11:52:03 PM »
Don't go looking for them.  If they happen they will be HUGE and you will see them along with everyone else in the stadium.  Those are the ones you want to get.  We have a guy through 7 varsity games at Umpire and he hasn't thrown a single flag for anything.  Film supports his lack of flags.

Offline Ralph Damren

• FAN REACTION: +865/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2023, 06:30:00 AM »